Easy Pumpkin Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Simple, easy and quick recipe. Perfect after dinner treat. Next time I will cut the sheet into 4 pieces instead of 9 because I'd like to get more filling inside the turnover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I took this recipe and added a twist. I made some pecans that I place on my sweet potato casserole. You take pecans add butter,brown sugar and some flour, let it bake for a couple a mins. Take out let set, it will become crumbly. Take this and crumble on top! yum it gives it needed texture. Great recipe! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Yummy Yummy !! These turned out great and were impressive looking ! I made small squares/rectangels instead of the usual triangles, but there were equally delicious ! I also used pumpkin that I cubed and boiled until tender, and sweetened more to taste. I will definately be using this recipe around the holidays !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kludmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
SO EASY! Also, very tasty :-) This was a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These are pretty good. Better warm than room temperature. I think the spices need to be turned up. If I make it again, I might at ginger or orange zest. I used puff pastry from Trader Joes, which came packaged as 2 9x9-inch sheets. I rolled it out to 12x12, but cut it into 3-inch squares, so I yielded 16 mini turnovers out of one sheet... 32 total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I did this as the recipe stated, except doubled. It had a weird taste :( I cooked the pumpkin & spices, it gets rid of the weird texture and taste for the canned stuff. I added creamcheese and some more pumpkin. It helped a lot! I did an egg bath and sprinkled with raw coarse sugar on top before baking. Came out good with my changes, I'd give mine a 4 but as was i'll stick with 3 for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Um...how do you get 9 out of a sheet? That's an odd number. Am I just dumb? (valid question). I used Pepperidge Farms and could either get 4 or 16, so I chose 4. They turned out full size and with a few extra cooking minutes-just really nice. I also read the reviews and used an orange juice concentrate glaze on them. I made apple pie filling ones with cinnamon glaze. It's important if you use a glaze though to not make it frosting thick because the pastry itself cools really fast and won't so much melt the glaze the way a sweet roll would. If your glaze is too thick, it will depress the top of the pastry. A slightly runny glaze works best. I think it would be really fun to try these with Lime Curd with some sort of pommegranate glaze for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitsakatsa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Yum! These were delicious! I made them as the recipe said (except for using canned pumpkin) and they were perfectly spiced, perfect consistency...I can't wait to take some for a get together or something. I used the Pepperidge Farms Puff Pastry, which made it easy to cut into nine squares and required no flour on the parchment paper--just thaw out, cut out, spoonful of the pumpkin mixture, and you're good. None of my pumpkin mixture came out of the edges...but I used my fingernail to pinch them down good and I didn't overstuff them...for me, less than a Tablespoon worked better. For the reviewer that wanted more details, the puff pastry in the grocery store actually says "Puff Pastry" on the packages, so I'm not sure where the confusion came in regarding Fillo Dough. Also, the recipe just calls for 1 cup of pumpkin, so probably any of the can sizes at the store would work, as would using fresh pumpkin, which is what I used. You just need one cup, not a whole can. :) Hope this helps. Thank you for posting this scrumptious recipe--you helped me broaden my horizons as I've never used puff pastry before. I sure will now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoyB2011
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed making and serving these. Everyone loved them. My only caveat is that the Pilsbury puff pastry can only be cut into four pieces, not nine; plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyB2011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My husband gobbled these up! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States