Easy Pumpkin Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These are delicious! My father and I made them yesterday to test them out for a possible Thanksgiving dessert. We gave some to our neighbors, some to my boyfriend's family, and kept some for ourselves. They were a hit with everyone! We did, however, use fresh pie pumpkin rather than canned pumpkin. And, as a little touch, we wet the tops of the turnovers and dipped them in some white sugar. They came out very little and cute. This recipe will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
These were awesome! Not too much spice and they tasted great! My picky family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is excellent. I made it using the ingredients as given. I did drizzle an icing made of confectioners sugar and water over the top. My husband could not believe how good these were. The only down side is puff pastry is kind of pricey and these things go fast! They are very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great tasting, easy recipe. I used a dollop of cream cheese in some and those were great as well. I only used cinnamon, no pumpkin spice, and added a splash of vanilla and a bit more pumpkin as it tasted like too much cinnamon. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soogirly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My father in law really enjoyed these, I had to make 3 batches just to take to my in laws for the holidays! I also blended some blueberry preserves with cream cheese and a little dash of whipping cream for an alternate filling, both were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Yum! These were delicious! I made them as the recipe said (except for using canned pumpkin) and they were perfectly spiced, perfect consistency...I can't wait to take some for a get together or something. I used the Pepperidge Farms Puff Pastry, which made it easy to cut into nine squares and required no flour on the parchment paper--just thaw out, cut out, spoonful of the pumpkin mixture, and you're good. None of my pumpkin mixture came out of the edges...but I used my fingernail to pinch them down good and I didn't overstuff them...for me, less than a Tablespoon worked better. For the reviewer that wanted more details, the puff pastry in the grocery store actually says "Puff Pastry" on the packages, so I'm not sure where the confusion came in regarding Fillo Dough. Also, the recipe just calls for 1 cup of pumpkin, so probably any of the can sizes at the store would work, as would using fresh pumpkin, which is what I used. You just need one cup, not a whole can. :) Hope this helps. Thank you for posting this scrumptious recipe--you helped me broaden my horizons as I've never used puff pastry before. I sure will now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are very tasty and not difficult to make. There are some points that need clarified, however. Make sure you flour the work surface before rolling out the pastry. This will keep it from sticking. Start with a Tablespoon of filling in the center of each square. Some filling is likely to escaqpe during baking, but that's par for the course with turnovers. These are delicious "as is", but I decided to top mine with a spiced maple glaze drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My husband gobbled these up! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
SO EASY! Also, very tasty :-) This was a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Yummy Yummy !! These turned out great and were impressive looking ! I made small squares/rectangels instead of the usual triangles, but there were equally delicious ! I also used pumpkin that I cubed and boiled until tender, and sweetened more to taste. I will definately be using this recipe around the holidays !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kludmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States