Easy Pumpkin Cream Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
DH and my sis LOVED this! To me and some other family members, it was okay. The cake seems VERY dense (almost hard) and not sweet at all, but mixed with the sauces and nuts, it was better. Just not my cup of tea. Though DH wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I have made this recipe 4-5 times already since finding it a few months ago & have had to also give out the recipe. We were going to be out of town for thanksgiving & I wanted to make it for some family to enjoy while we were gone but I had to make it a few days in advance. So for this case, I didn't layer it just left it in the dish & as it turned out I forgot to add the pumpkin pie spice. I was told it was the first dessert to go & they didn't notice the missing ingredient. The only thing I would say is that this recipe makes more than what would fit into a typical trifle bowl. So I have either had to deal w/leftover ingredients or use a VERY big bowl. But it's still one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
It was great and looked beautiful in my Pampered Chef trifle dish. A big hit! I did take the suggestions of adding cream cheese, caramel and I omited the toffee since my store didn't have it. I also used carrot cake mix which turned out wonderful and you could not tell that it was carrot cake. WARNING! Read instructions before beginning. This seems obvious but I started baking the cake and then realized I was supposed to add pumpkin, etc to mix. Hopefully most people read instuctions before beginning a recipe unlike me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious. My husband is a very picky eater and absolutly loved this. Said he would eat this throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My sister made this for Thanksgiving 2008. OUTSTANDING. She got the recipe from her sister-in-law, and her neices and nephews ask for this for their "birthday cake" each year! I think that says a lot about a recipe that children love as much as adults!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this dessert for Thanksgiving this year and not only was it delicious, but makes for a gorgeous presentation layered in a trifle bowl. I made it exactly as written and it was perfect. It gets better and better the longer it is refridgerated. Everyone loved this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
FANTASTIC! made a few changes based on some reviews though...i also put caramel on top of the cake. also mixed a tiny bit of pumpkin in with the cheesecake pudding to give it a little color since i added a 3rd layer of plain cool whip. fantastic!!! one more change i made was i made the cake in 2 round pans so i could just lay the layers in instead of cubing the cake, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThursdayRecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I broke a diet for this one after a small taste... YUMMMMMMMMM! I did the cream cheese in the cream filling, and I used a carrot cake instead of a spice cake because that's what I had in my pantry. It was sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was quick and easy to do. I cheated and used a pumpkin bundt cake mix and I don't think it was as good as probably making the cake itself. I also don't like the fake flavor of cheesecake pudding so I used vanilla and folded in whipped cream cheese. Definitely make ahead to let the flavors "marinate".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
One of my friends made this recipe for our all girl Thankgsving day gathering.. this was WONDERFUL!!! I am definately going to make this one for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memoriaha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States