Easy Pumpkin Cream Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this per a suggestion of an Allrecipes member looking for a recipe for a Christmas pot-luck. Personally, I am not a big fan of boxed puddings and cool whip type products in desserts. However, I have to say though this all worked together for a quick and easy pot-luck idea. I made the cake the day before and assembled it the next. I couldn't find plain toffee and used the chocolate coated Heath toffee bits in the baking aisle and that worked fine. I put it all in a clear dollar store disposable container. I purchased 2 containers of cool whip. I am glad I did because the cream layer only made 2 layers. I ended up using what was left of the one and the whole second container to do the top layer. I probably used a little extra pecans also to garnish the top. I hope they like it at the party. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
It looked pretty and tasted good, but it didn't blow us away. Half my guests didn't even taste it. It's easy to make and tastes decent, but nothing fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Dooley
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love this recipe I do change a few things to make it a little healthier but other than that it is great for this time of year for Thanksgiving and Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Dooley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This was a huge hit. I did add the caramel over the cake as per some other's suggestions, and also made my own whipped cream and did it as a separate layer. Wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinasweets
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I made this for a fall holiday party yesterday and EVERYONE raved about it. I did make some changes. After I had difficulty finding the cream cheese pudding, I said, "heck, let's just rock this". Here it goes: I did the butterscotch pudding into the cake mix. I also put the pumpkin puree in the cake mix, as stated in the recipe. For the filling, I used a box of the instant cheese cake in the pudding isle ("just add milk"). I made that and let it set. I then mixed it with a full small container of whipped cream. SO DELICIOUS! I also added some nutmeg. I couldn't find toasted pecans so I cooked some pecans in butter and brown sugar on the stove. That was definitely a must. I also used caramel as others suggested. I layered this baby in a trifle dish and sprinkled some nutmeg on top for extra awesomeness, then whoalah...it was gone. This is the perfect fall dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Every one absolutely loved this desert! Followed the recipe to a T, made no changes. Was a bit worried that it would be too sweet but it's perfect! Looked gorgeous in my trifle bowl also. Will definitely make this again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
After a uneatable "healthy" ginger pie I made for a family holiday gathering last year I redeemed myself big time with this dish. All ages loved it! I did at 8oz cream cheese to the whip topping layer. This time, I'm going to bake the cake in two round pans and rather than cutting it in squares as the recipe calls for, I'm going to do a round cake layer, then cream layer then toffee bits and so on. This will look be more of a layered cake and cut in slices. I think it will be very pretty. I will post photos and review on how it turns out... bottom line is this is a winner I will be making every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We really liked parts of this recipe. The spice cake is very good, also loved the addition of the toasted pecans and toffee bits to the trifle. What we didn't like was the artificial taste of the cheesecake pudding layer, and the consistency was kind of strange too - ours had the consistency of unbaked dough. I made a layer of just the cake with the whipped cream, nuts, toffee, and drizzled caramel, and everyone really liked that part, so next time I would just leave out the pudding part entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
made this using a gingerbread mix,just following the directions on the box to make the cake part. Also drizzled the cake layer with butterscotch/caramel topping to add a little more decadence...I used Jello pumpkin spice pudding mix instead of the vanilla and did not add the oil, eggs, pumpkin puree. Was pretty and seasonal and everyone liked it alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have tried this recipe, the cake is amazing, moist and full of yumminess! But as others have noted there is not enough creamy topping. After reading the review that states "the recipe is incorrect,the pumpkin should be added to the pudding, not to the cake", I will try it again and use the new directions. I think I may even put pumpkin in the cake AND in the pudding topping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States