Easy Pressure Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Reallly great recipe! I added my own little twist, sauteed a couple of chopped cloves of garlic in the oil and took them out to brown the meat, added them back in with the broth and onions. I also, "kicked it up a notch", by rubbing kosher salt, ground Indian Malabar peppercorns and some Emeril's Essence onto the meat before browning. Threw in some chopped celery with the veggies and it was Yummy!! Had that good, spicy but not SPICY, taste along with the traditional flavors, really Good!! Will be using this recipe again and again! FYI; even though she doesn't specify in step 3, I used low pressure for the last 15 minutes, the veggies came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made it with 2 lb of carrots and 2lb of potatoes. I added 2 tsp of tomato paste and 2 tsp of soy sauce instead of the Worcestershire sauce. I browned the onions. Everything else i followed the recipe. When i make it again, i will add a bay leaf and some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I quarter spuds and bring pressure back up and cook them about 6 min.Any longer and u end up with potato mush.Also use a couple of Onion Soup in the begining
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this great recipe and in addition made it more versatile by adding 2 additional cans of broth (if your cooker can safely hold it)and delay the addition of worcester sauce until after the roast is fully cooked. After the roast is fully cooked, pour off the extra 2 cans of broth into a bowl and cool (refrigerate) which will bring the fat to the top for easy skimming. Use the fat free super-flavored beef broth as a base for all French Onion soup recipes. All French Onion soup recipes will be kicked up a notch or two and will never taste bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newjerseybt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very simple and delicious. Family loved it! The meat could have cooked another 10 to 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Followed the recipe as written. Very easy and excellent results. The meat was very, very tender--the 6-year-old who usually doesn't like meat asked for more. Potatoes were done perfectly. Carrots were very soft, but still tasty. Popped a spaghetti squash in the oven the same time I started the pressure cooker and with very little effort ended up with a lovely autumn supper. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe! No doubt I will make this again. The only difference was I used a can of beef consomme instead of beef broth. I used a sweet onion and it was sooo good. Next time I will put more sweet onion in the mix. I love pressure cooker recipes. HUGE time savers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
So good and so easy. It was a raving success at the Pot-Luck Dinner at church. I will definitely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYBUDDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Great base recipe. I made a few adjustments to accommodate our tastes and cooking at 4500f elevation. I added a small can of V8 juice to the broth and added two stalks of celery with the onion. I added garlic powder rather than onion powder (I was out of fresh garlic) I like my vegetables a little firmer so I cooked the roast for 45 minutes, then added the vegetables and cooked for another 5-10 minutes. I transferred everything to a serving dish, whisked 2T flour into the broth and brought it to a boil, then simmered for 10 minutes to thicken the gravy. This gave just enough time for the meat to rest before I sliced it. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Paz Soldán

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I made a few adjustments to this recipe, because I wanted somethingI could do all at once. I cut the carrots and onion into large pieces and put them in the bottom of the cooker place the roast on top and used new potatoes left whole and put them on top of the roast ...cook under full pressure for 1 hr 15 or so for a 3 lb roast. As long as the skin on the new potatoes is not broken they stay intact and still absorb all the flavor, and I don't have to cool the pot down. My family love the potatoes they are soft and fluffy when you cut into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Cathcart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States