Easy Potato Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I found this recipe just in time - yesterday was our first really chilly day since summer, and this was perfect for dinner! I made this with a little more veggies (3 large fresh carrots, and 3 stalks of celery along with the onion), so I increased the liquid to 1 can of chicken broth & a can & a half of water (with 1 teaspoon of Cajun seasoning for extra flavor) - so then I had to increase the potato flakes to 1-1/2 cups! I used about 5 cups of red potatoes (skin on), and added my chunked-up smoked sausage to the veggies to brown it a little. I ended up with a great big pot of yummy, stick-to-your-ribs coziness in a bowl. Really good with warm french bread from our grocery store bakery. We'll be making this often during the winter ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I gave 5 stars but with variations. I wanted to make this healthier so I used Boca meatless sausages and red potatos with skins on. I knew my children wouldn't touchi it with the peppers, so I omitted them. All 5 children ate it and asked for more. Not bad for a healthy meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This is a "SOUPer" recipe. Did an ingredient search for polish sausage and this was one of the recipes that came up. I had all the ingredients in the kitchen (one exception, used fresh chopped carrots) so gave it a go. I wasn't sure at first. It's not like any potato soup I've had before but by the end of the bowl I had a new favorite! Would have given it five stars but my two year old didn't care for the strong flavor in the green peppers and sausage. I will be making this soup often this winter. (and my daughter a pb&j) HAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This is the best potato soup I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
this is the first time i made this my mom always made this i used canned potatos but it still turn out great instead of freash potatos it was so good it didnt last long thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcovey45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This was very dissapointing. The potato flakes sounded like a great idea, but gave the soup an unpleasant texture. The flavor was bland and uninspiring. I will not be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Very Good Soup. Quick and Easy to make. Not on the healtiest side, but good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was a great cold-weather meal. I used whatever vegetables I had on hand, and they worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
A diffinate 5 star recipe. I did make a few changes by sauting celery with the onion. I did not have potato flakes so grated a raw potato and put it in with the cubed potatoes. I used Hillshire kielbasa which the taste did not over power the rest of the ingredients. The results were super. Oh, I made a little white sauce using melted margarine, flour and adding a little cream. I needed a little thickener since I had no potato flakes. This recipe is now one of our favorite soups. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I took this recipe, which sounded wonderful, and added a few things and changed others.First off, I cooked a fair amount of onions and celery in butter, than added ground italian sausage and cooked that all together. Seasoning with salt, pepper and garlic. I also used chicken broth instead of water (which in my opinion, makes any soup better than using "just" water). I then let my diced potatoes simmer until mushy, adding milk, letting that warm up, then adding corn and green beans and then the potatoe flakes. I love it...reminds me of the sausage/potatoe soup at Olive Garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States