Easy Potato Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
this was a great soup. My husband loved it. I left out the green peppers and potato flakes. I used fresh carrots. the polish sausage I used was smoked which gave it a nice smokey flavor. I added a little cheese at the end.I used chicken broth instead of water for more flavor. I will make this again. when I heated it up the next day I just added a little milk to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
My family did not enjoy this soup. Maybe if made with smoked sausage it would add more flavor. Nobody liked it and would not make again. Pulled recipe out of my binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This was a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Very good soup! Used suggestions of other reviewers and added 3 stalks of celery and browned it along with the sausage and onions. Also added 3 fresh carrots instead of frozen, used 1 can of chicken broth in place of some of the water and used 1.5 cups of potato flakes to make it nice and thick. Also added a little cayenne pepper and topped the soup with a little shredded cheddar. Soup had excellent flavor but was a little greasy so next time I'll omit the margarine and try using turkey sausage. Will definitely make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This is the first time I tried to cook sausage in a way that was different from the way it was cooked in my household growing up. (Just cooking it in the oven and eating it with saurkraut and mashed potatoes.) This was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
My changes require this to be called "Not so quick Potato Chowder" but it is delicious!! I sauteed 3 stalks of celery along with 3 cloves of garlic with the onions and used fresh diced carrots. There was a LOT of chopping going on! I used chicken broth instead of water and omitted the salt. I also added a smidge of ground habenaro pepper for some zip. Next time I will use just 1/4 cup butter (not margarine) for the sauteing. We just had it for lunch on a VERY COLD New England afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This was SOOOOOOO GOOD! I added a can of corn niblets which added an little extra flavor. This soup is a meal in itself. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I found this recipe just in time - yesterday was our first really chilly day since summer, and this was perfect for dinner! I made this with a little more veggies (3 large fresh carrots, and 3 stalks of celery along with the onion), so I increased the liquid to 1 can of chicken broth & a can & a half of water (with 1 teaspoon of Cajun seasoning for extra flavor) - so then I had to increase the potato flakes to 1-1/2 cups! I used about 5 cups of red potatoes (skin on), and added my chunked-up smoked sausage to the veggies to brown it a little. I ended up with a great big pot of yummy, stick-to-your-ribs coziness in a bowl. Really good with warm french bread from our grocery store bakery. We'll be making this often during the winter ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I gave 5 stars but with variations. I wanted to make this healthier so I used Boca meatless sausages and red potatos with skins on. I knew my children wouldn't touchi it with the peppers, so I omitted them. All 5 children ate it and asked for more. Not bad for a healthy meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This is a "SOUPer" recipe. Did an ingredient search for polish sausage and this was one of the recipes that came up. I had all the ingredients in the kitchen (one exception, used fresh chopped carrots) so gave it a go. I wasn't sure at first. It's not like any potato soup I've had before but by the end of the bowl I had a new favorite! Would have given it five stars but my two year old didn't care for the strong flavor in the green peppers and sausage. I will be making this soup often this winter. (and my daughter a pb&j) HAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States