Easy Potato Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I lowered the calories by eliminating the butter and the milk - I boiled sliced light smoked sausage and the veggies with the potatoes and added 1/4 C of cream when tender. Seasoned with celery seed. Instead of adding instant (yuck) I just mashed some of the potatoes with a fork against the side of the pot until I got the consistency I wanted. Very low in calories and really hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
True to the other reviews, this soup is great and very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very good and although I didn't have all ingredients, I substituted: frozen corn and beans for carrots and peppers, mild italian sausage for polish sausage. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Creamy, and very very yummy. No changes needed to this one. Thank you for this post~ ummm ummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was excellent soup. It will be made often in our house, especially with winter approaching. I made it for my husband, my teenage son and myself for a late dinner, as I know my younger kids probably wouldn't like it. My son ate FOUR bowls of it!!! We all loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using chicken broth rather than plain water. Served it with crusty french rolls. I noticed some of the previous reviewers said it was "too bland". We thought it was very flavorful!! And the aroma while it was cooking was amazing. I used Farmland Polska Kielbasa for the sausage, and it gave the whole dish a nice smoky flavor. The texture was perfect with the 3/4 cup of the potato flakes. Thank you for posting this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is delicious. And more importantly, this is so very easy to make. I made it for my family and they loved it. And it makes so much that you can have it more than once! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Great soup! Thanks, Deirdre Dee! What a nice change for potato soup! Great on these cold evenings! I omitted the green pepper. The smell was fabulous! MmmmMmmmmgoooood! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I substituted corn for the carrots and left out the green pepper. This was easy to make and had a wonderful flavor. Perfect for a cold winter night. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I WANTED TO TRY IT AS IT IS WRITTEN BEFORE I MADE ANY CHANGES AND FOUND IT VERY EASY AND DELICIOUS JUST AS IS. THE SECOND TIME I FIXED IT I USED A PACKAGE OF ROSEMARY GARLIC INSTANT POTATOES AND THE SOUP WAS A HIT WITH MY GUESTS. IT ALSO IS FAIRLY QUICK TO ASSEMBLE SINCE I CHOPPED WHILE THE ONIONS COOKED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I liked this soup myself, although it wasn't well-received by my husband, who thought it lacked flavor. While it was easy to make, it was certainly not quick and I probably wouldn't consider making it on a weeknight. I added garlic to the browning process and halved the margarine. Next time I would add another pepper, more garlic, and probably substitute chicken broth for some/all of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States