Easy Potato Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I thought this was really good. I would personally give it 5 stars, but because it wasn't unanimously agreed on, I'm giving it 4. Kids didn't like the appearance and therefore made up their mind before even trying. The adults all seemed to like it. I may not make it as think next time. Thanks. All in all, a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
A perfect comfort food with awesome flavor! A great soup for cold, rainy days. My husband has made this dish several times and serves it up with a side of garlic bread for dipping. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Tastes great, but directions didn't work for me. I used others' suggestions: added celery, fresh carrots, put all in to saute at the beginning, then added sausage while I cut up potatoes. Red potatoes with skin on, cut in less than 1/2" cubes. Added 1 can chicken stock and 1 can water (plus a half). Added potatoes, salt, pepper, some garlic salt. Set on low for 45 minutes, potatoes still crunchy. Waited another 1/2 hour - still not done. Up'd the setting to medium, gave them 5 minutes at a rolling boil - then ok. Then added 2-1/2 cups milk at low, then 1-1/2 cups flakes. Never thickened, added another approx 1 cup flakes, better but not thick. Ate it after the 1-1/2 hour wait! Next time, I will boil more earlier in the process! Less water, less butter - it was quite oily on top, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very tasty, but rich! I skimmed off the congealed fat after refrigerating overnight. One might reduce the amount of sausage to help reduce fat content as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Made this once and will continue to make it forever. I think I ate 5 bowls the first time around! I used a mild Italian sausage and chicken stock instead of water. It gave the soup wonderful flavor. Thanks for the recipe Deidre!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnastasiaMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This soup was good, however I added a little paprika and a touch less salt and some fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
If you are looking for quick, easy and delicious...look no more! I substituted a bag of frozen hash brown potatoes, canned chicken broth (instead of water) and turkey kielbasa. Followed the rest exactly and this soup was a bit hit with the boys. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
this was really good and easy but i put chicken broth in it and took out the sausage added a few more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Really good but very filling. Goes great with a hearty multi grain bread for an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was very good. I did follow the other reviews some, in that I used chicken broth instead of water. I also added celery, I could not imagine potato soup without it! I also added 2 cloves of garlic, and used olive oil instead of margarine. I think the soup would be good without any changes, but is very easy to customize to individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States