Easy Potato Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I had several problems with this recipe. First, it calls for potato flakes which I have never heard of and couldn't find at two different grocery stores. Second, the name suggests it would be simple and quick to make which it was not. Between chopping countless vegetables and cooking the soup for nearly an hour this was timely and not particularly worth it. I followed suggestions from others: using chicken broth rather than water, using fresh carrots, adding cheese, and using flour to thicken it and while the soup came out fine and everyone ate it, I didn't find it particularly special or worth saving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I have made this exactly as written twice. We all love it, and it is often requested. The only thing my kids ages 13 and 15 requested was that I add 1 cup of sliced cabbage. (About 1inch wide and 4 inches long) I have tried napa and plain green head cabbage and save a small amount of raw minced very fine for them to put on thier servings. Try it! Also I have used potato flakes as a soup thickener for years! So much better than flour sinceyou can add it at the end. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth-Deth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Omg best potato soup ever. Added. some cilantro . It's as good off better then restaurant. Alto it's not diet. Very filling. Excellent receipt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Pretty good, but I prefer my Mom's recipe. I halved the quantities because my slow-cooker is a small one. I skipped the green pepper since I had none. I added a stalk of celery and used fresh carrots instead of frozen. I also used the smoked polish sausages. My potatoes may have been old - after 3 hours slow-cooking on high, they lost 90% of their structural integrity, disintegrating into the surrounding soup, so I didn't bother adding potato flakes. At the end, it seemed very bland, so I added half-n-half instead of milk, a teaspoon of dried parsley and a few more grinds of black pepper. It thickened up nicely, I may have used more potatoes than just half. I stirred in two small handfuls of shredded cheddar cheese and served it with a handful of mini-pretzels scattered on top and the little bit of crunch was nice. My son went back for seconds of the pretzels only. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I will make this again. I followed tips from others and used chicken stock instead of water and replaced some of the chopped onion with celery. Also used hot peppers (Italian Roasters) from the garden instead of the green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe but next time might cut the sausage into smaller pieces or may try it with cooked ground sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
i made this receipe but i carmelized the 2 onions in a stick of butter. also had 1/2 cup of chopped raw onions i added the carmelized onions in at the end. The chopped potatoes i seasoned with fresh black pepper corns and seat salt while uncooked before added them in the broth. 3 cans of fat free chicken broth. I then proceeded to add small russet potatoes so i could have potatoe chunks. let boil and added 1 idaho 5 cheese potatoe pouch to soup. I did try the reviewers suggestion and use chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written (with the addition of frozen corn). It was delicious. The kids loved it and my husband especially loved it. We will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
awesome recipe. . .I had a bag of OBrien Cut Potatoes. The bad worked fine in place of the potatoes. I used Chicken broth in place of the water --- I just always do that, can't bring myself to add water to a soup. We used corn in place of carrots (personal preference). The Results were yummy! This recipe seems like a good one to change up with what you have in the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was pretty good, and probably would have been better if I had followed the recipe exactly. I didn't have potato flakes, so I made a paste out of butter, flour, and milk. Next time I'll just add flour. I substituted the water for milk. You could also use chicken broth. Also, I didn't have carrots or celery. I found the soup to be very buttery, and didn't care for it much. My family actually liked it much more than I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States