Easy Potato Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I took this recipe, which sounded wonderful, and added a few things and changed others.First off, I cooked a fair amount of onions and celery in butter, than added ground italian sausage and cooked that all together. Seasoning with salt, pepper and garlic. I also used chicken broth instead of water (which in my opinion, makes any soup better than using "just" water). I then let my diced potatoes simmer until mushy, adding milk, letting that warm up, then adding corn and green beans and then the potatoe flakes. I love it...reminds me of the sausage/potatoe soup at Olive Garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I found this recipe just in time - yesterday was our first really chilly day since summer, and this was perfect for dinner! I made this with a little more veggies (3 large fresh carrots, and 3 stalks of celery along with the onion), so I increased the liquid to 1 can of chicken broth & a can & a half of water (with 1 teaspoon of Cajun seasoning for extra flavor) - so then I had to increase the potato flakes to 1-1/2 cups! I used about 5 cups of red potatoes (skin on), and added my chunked-up smoked sausage to the veggies to brown it a little. I ended up with a great big pot of yummy, stick-to-your-ribs coziness in a bowl. Really good with warm french bread from our grocery store bakery. We'll be making this often during the winter ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
A diffinate 5 star recipe. I did make a few changes by sauting celery with the onion. I did not have potato flakes so grated a raw potato and put it in with the cubed potatoes. I used Hillshire kielbasa which the taste did not over power the rest of the ingredients. The results were super. Oh, I made a little white sauce using melted margarine, flour and adding a little cream. I needed a little thickener since I had no potato flakes. This recipe is now one of our favorite soups. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
This was great--I'm always reluctant to try new recipes but this was really tasty and really easy. I only used a half onion, used about a cup of sliced fresh carrots instead of frozen, and didn't have any green pepper so I excluded that. I threw everything (I didn't saute anything) except the potato flakes and milk into the slow cooker on high for 4 hours--with enough water to cover everything, and added the milk and flakes in the last few minutes. I also used turkey kielbasa to be a bit healthier and left the skins on the potatoes--healthier and faster. IT WAS GREAT!! And it freezes well too. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This soup turns out great, though I did make some changes based on my taste preferences. I used celery instead of onions, fresh carrots instead of frozen and broth instead of water. I also used turkey sausage to lighten up the recipe some and I didnt use any margarine, just cooking spray. Also added a little shredded reduced fat cheddar for flavor. Yum! I think anyone could play with this recipe to make it the perfect winter soup for your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Really good soup! WE all loved it!! I didn't bother with the frozen carrots, just chopped 1 cup worth. Also, 1-2 minutes before I was to add the milk, I added apprx 10oz of Velveeta cheese and when it started to "melt," I mixed in the milk. When the cheese was all melted, I added 1/2 cup potato flakes. This gave it a creamy/cheesy soup! Love it! Thanks Deirdre!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This was very dissapointing. The potato flakes sounded like a great idea, but gave the soup an unpleasant texture. The flavor was bland and uninspiring. I will not be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
My changes require this to be called "Not so quick Potato Chowder" but it is delicious!! I sauteed 3 stalks of celery along with 3 cloves of garlic with the onions and used fresh diced carrots. There was a LOT of chopping going on! I used chicken broth instead of water and omitted the salt. I also added a smidge of ground habenaro pepper for some zip. Next time I will use just 1/4 cup butter (not margarine) for the sauteing. We just had it for lunch on a VERY COLD New England afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
good comfort food. i did add some garlic, and used fresh carrots. i did not have polish sausage so i just used plain, and browned it first. turned out really good, and kids ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I could tell this recipe would be a little bland for us so I added some spice. It was tasty, but we prefer the Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup recipe. Though this recipe was definitely easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States