Easy Potato Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I made this soup using vegetarian sausage crumbles. I melted the onions in unsalted butter instead of margarine, added 1 veggie bouillon cube along with the water, and substituted a mixed blend of vegetables that included carrots because I didn't have frozen carrots by themselves. The soup was delicious, but we did feel like we needed to add a fair amount of salt to it. I'll be making this one again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Definitely a recipe worth saving. I think next time I will just leave the potato flakes out, and maybe add a couple extra veggies, like celery. I used a can of sliced carrots because that's what I had on hand, so I didn't add them until the soup had all ready been cooking for thirty minutes or so. Next time I will also make sure to slice my sausage pieces a little smaller. Really great flavor. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I reduced the onion to one, nixed the peppers and used fresh carrot and this recipe is a favorite for my family. During the winter, we make this a couple times every month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Very good soup! I used soy milk because we're dairy free and it was wonderful. Thank you for a new soup to add to my recipes - I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This recipe is great...I make it when it is so cold outside and my boyfriend and son love it..the only thing that I changed is I use dried onions and no peppers in my recipes. everything else I kept to same. Thank you so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. My husband and son really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe, except I did not have any green peppers, so did not add. However, I am sure that would have been good also. I added 1 tsp of chicken better than boullion in place of 1 tsp salt. I did not have potato flakes, so I did as others have mentioned and mixed a little flour with milk to thicken. I also mashed some of the potates to help thicken. Also, added a few slices of american cheese. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was very good. I thought I might have leftovers for lunch the next day but my husband and children polished it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this without milk because I was out and it came out pretty tasty. It's a pretty basic potato soup. The sausage adds good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Easy to prepare & great to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I lowered the calories by eliminating the butter and the milk - I boiled sliced light smoked sausage and the veggies with the potatoes and added 1/4 C of cream when tender. Seasoned with celery seed. Instead of adding instant (yuck) I just mashed some of the potatoes with a fork against the side of the pot until I got the consistency I wanted. Very low in calories and really hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States