Easy Potato Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good soup overall, made a few changes though, I only used 1 onion, 1/4 margarine, 2c. sliced fresh carrot, 2c. sliced celery instead of green pepper. Had a taste test when it was almost done, and added a 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. Will definitely make again, possibly adding a cup of corn, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Easy and oooh so yummy! I was expecting company and needed to make something quick, tired from hosting a birthday party the day before, this recipe was just the trick! I love celery in almost any soup, so I added a few diced stalks while cooking the onions. I like to brown my meat as well, so did that after onions and celery cooked. Threw in a minced garlic and 3 bouillon cubes in place of the salt. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and the result was outstanding, My company loved it too and I will add this to my list of soups to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I used the crock pot like another reviewer. I also used garlic, fresh carrots & celery. I sauted the onions, green peppers, & celery in the margarine & added some bacon fat. I chopped the carrots quite finely & put them w/ the water, chopped smoked sausage (I chopped it finely like the carrots) and bullion cubes (3). I cut my potatoes & pre-cooked them in the microwave to make sure they got soft. I let all this simmer in the crock-pot for 4 hours. Then I added the potato flakes (2/3 cup) and milk. My husband liked it quite well. I liked it quite well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I used Hot Links and fresh carrots and garlic. The Hot Links gave it some spicyness and a lot of flavor. I also added 1/2 cup of Parmesean cheese at the end. Omitted the green pepper cause I didn't have any. I love how the mashed potato flakes thicken the soup. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
this really was good. I had not made soup w sausage so was surprised. I did not have polish, so used Italian, and did not have potato flakes so subbed a few raw potatoes shredded. gave nice texture and I think probably better flavour than fake potatoes anyway. Really, we enjoed and will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
The only change I made was red peppers instead of green. It was delicious, and everyone in the house loved it. I loved using the potato flakes to help thicken the soup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Delicious!! what a hit! It was easy and hearty with plenty leftover for lunches. I added leeks and celery that I sauteed with the onions and I used mild Italian sausage for a little spice. I also substituted chicken broth for the water. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I've made this soup a few times now and I love it! I always change something in just about every recipe... this one is good with some paprika... I also added garlic and bacon...substitute the water for broth...sometimes chicken, sometimes beef and sometimes vegatable... this soup is awesome whatever you add to the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Super yummy soup, great for a chilly Fall day! I used mild italian sausage in the natural casing & squeezed the meat into a pot with lots of onion before I added the other ingredients. Used garlic flavored potato flakes to thicken up the soup....super yummy! A crowd pleaser for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Good Recipe. I used Italian Mild Sausage and left out the bell pepper. It just needed a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States