Easy Potato Salad with Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I had only russet potatoes, so that's what I used, and I had no fresh dill, so used dried. For our taste, 2 Tbsp cider vinegar was too much because it really thinned out the dressing (it was almost like a salad dressing) and was a little too tart for us...I added a pinch of sugar. I compensated on the dressing consistency by adding more mayo which yielded a nice smooth dressing that wasn't falling off of the potatoes. This was a nice change from the typical mayo-based potato salad, and in the future, I will reduce the vinegar to 1 Tbsp. Thanks, bonmot, for sharing your recipe. UPDATE 8.17.12 I had some left from dinner and was surprised this morning when I looked in the fridge that it held up great! Wondered if the cukes would break down overnight, making it runny. It looks exactly like it did yesterday. Sooooo you can make it ahead of time with no concern that it'll be runny the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Love this! Thanks for sharing! Used lemon cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Hooray! an easy, simple and delicious recipe that deviates from the norm. I love dill and decided on a whim this morning to add it to my basic recipe, but then got a little nervous about the outcome. Lo and behold, I found your recipe which confirmed my hunch that it was a good idea! I'm going to add the green onion and cucumber instead of the usual yellow onion and celery. What's funny too is that I also use apple cider vinegar in my recipe. Great minds think alike. Fantastic!! thanks. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I thought this tasted good. I liked how fairly quick it was to make and that it had a crunch, but not from raw celery and onions. I did only get about 3 servings though. After I started making it I realized I only had 1 green onion, so I just used that. For the dill I subbed 2 small pinches of dry as it is more affordable and what I had on hand. I also cooled the potatoes, ran them under some cold water, and then refridgerated them after draining for about 1 hour. For the dressing I used white wine vinegar with lite mayo. However, I think I would prefer the cider vinegar and regular mayo. My dressing got a little thin, which I believe was from using lite mayo. That was my fault though. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
We had this tonight because it had no celery and it was very tasty! I had to make a couple of substitutions based on what I had: rice vinegar for the cider vinegar and bell pepper for the cucumber. We will definitely have this again because it is super easy and we normally have some type of crunchy vegetable on hand. It paired very well with roasted red pepper grilled chicken and grilled corn - the mild vinegar really complemented the rest of the meal. We will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I substituted new potatoes and a half teaspoon of dried dill. This is an excellent salad, and the longer you leave it in the fridge, the more the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I had fresh dill that I needed to use up and this seemed like a simple recipe, so I went for it. This was very easy to make, with few ingredients and was exactly what I was looking for… tangy, creamy and delicious. I do not miss the mustard or celery at all. My husband and I both agree that this will become our go to recipe for potato salad. Thank you so much for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was so yummy. I substituted bell pepper for cucumber because that's what I had on hand. The only problem I had was that I couldn't stop eating it and I had to scold my boyfriend for sneaking bites before dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I don't want to rate this too low because I'm not sure if it was cook error or the recipe, but mine didn't turn out that great. I followed ingredients and instructions to a T, but something happened along the way. Mine turned out kind of bland and dry (not a lot of dressing). I'm not sure what I did wrong...But, it was fun to make and try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Delicious light potato salad for summer pot lucks! I multiplied X4, cut the vinegar in half and the result was fabulous. Love the crunch of the cuke....much better than celery! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States