Easy Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This roast was very easy! It took a bit longer to cook though, at the 1.5 hour mark it was still very rare so i had to turn the temp up for another half hour to finish the cooking in time for dinner. It was a bit tough, but that was probably my fault. Other wise it was amazing and very tasty. Before adding the veggies gave it a sprinkle of Nature Seasons (i put it on every meat dish i cook), gave it a nice addition of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe! I've tweaked it a bit and use an electric pressure cooker to make it. I brown the roast on both sides in a little olive oil. Mix up a can of cream of mushroom soup, half a can of water, the dry onion soup mix and the worcestershire sauce. Then I put mushrooms (canned if I don't have fresh), carrots and potatoes and a bay leaf on top of the roast. Add the soup mixture over it all. It cooks on high pressure for a little over an hour and the roast comes out so tender and juicy and the gravy is awesome! My husband loves it and asks me to make it at least every other week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Flavor was good but following this recipe exactly leaves the meat VERY tough. (My husband said, "just think of it as a steak") Pot roast must be cooked more slowly at a lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Really easy but if you want tender meat you'll have to cook for 4 hours or chop up meat first :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent! I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was super easy! I didn't have an oven bag so I simply made it in my roasting pan. I think I cooked the meat a bit too long because it was a little on the tough side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Good! I ended up putting this in the slow cooker instead of oven (senior moment?) but it was fine. Used 2.4 lb. roast and 1/2 pkg. onion soup mix, 1 cup water and 1/2 tbls. beef bouillon and some garlic. Browned the meat before adding to crock pot. No extra salt necessary. Put the veggies on top so they didn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great easy dish! I didn't add the potatoes and veggies to the meat because I think they come out better made separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This recipe definitely is easy! Plus it's just as the submitter describes - good, simple, and inexpensive which is just what a pot roast should be as it's classic comfort food. I chose to cook mine in a slow cooker vs. the oven. And, I also subbed a can of beef broth for the water as it brings out more of the beef flavor plus it makes for some really good gravy. I left out the potatoes, celery, and carrots and instead put the roast on a bed of portabella mushrooms. I cooked it low and slow for 8 hours and it was falling apart and above all delicious - perfect with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
DELICIOUS! I have always made my roasts in he crock pot but I wanted to try something a little different and it was a huge hit! I followed the recipe EXCEPT I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and I cooked it for 3 hours like some of the reviewers had previously recommended. I am glad I did because after 3 hours it was cooked to medium when I sliced it...perfect. The only thing I will do differently next time is use more potatoes and carrots because they were so yummy! This one is a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States