Easy Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Yum alert!!!! Super easy & had all ingredients in the pantry! Served dinner in under 3 hrs! Used 3-lb roast, baked for 2.5-3 hrs in the oven at 325 degrees, added can of cream of mushroom, 1 lb of baby carrots, 1 lb baby potatoes, instead of water, used 1 can of french onion soup ALL in a roasting bag for easy clean up! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was quick and great!I added mushrooms and instead of 2 cups water i did 1 cup water 1 cup beef broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tate S.
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
A bit of a prep, but it was easy once you finish chopping the veggies, and it tasted terrific. The au jus it makes is pretty good, but next time I'm gonna try adding some cream of mushroom soup to get a nice gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe! It is his absolute favorite. I do cook it in the crock pot, so it's nice and tender after about 8 hours on low. I took the advice of other raters and used a can of beef broth. I also seasoned the meat with some cajun seasoning (Tony Chachere's is my favorite) before placing it in the crock pot. I add the veggies halfway through the cooking time, just so they don't get mushy and overcooked. The "gravy" it makes is good over rice or mashed potatoes. The meat is just so tender and this recipe is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly_leigh82

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Easy to make, short list of ingredients. I am not a very good cook, and I was looking for something simple that would not be very time consuming. This fit the bill perfectly. One caution- the meat I started with was about 1/2 a LB heavier than the recipe called for, so we had to cook it about an extra half hour. Be sure you make changes in cooking time for things like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was not hard at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich4kc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Great recipe. I usually marinade it for a few hours and leave it in the oven for 2 hours because of other reviews, but I find it to be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this recipe, without deviating, for our Christmas dinner. I was not impressed. The chuck roast weighed 3.5 lbs and I put in potatoes and carrots. I heated the oven to 350 and then reduced it to 300 when I put the roast in. At 1.5 hrs the veggies didn't appear to be done, so I left it in the oven another 15 mins. I let it sit for about 10 mins b4 cutting it and it was NOT tender and did not fall apart. Additionally, the veggies were not fully cooked. Needless to say, I was VERY disappointed...thankfully there was two of us for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good, very tender beef with great flavor. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I have a question. Does a bag have to be used? Can I use a dutch oven or foil covered pan instead? I've had bags melt so I don't use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fuzzywuzzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States