Easy Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
One of the best soups I've ever had! I didn't add the pasta though and I think its better that way. It also needed more liquid than the recipe called for, but those are super easy adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
this was pretty good but i attribute it to the spicy sausage i used.. i made it out of ground turkey using the recipe for Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage Mild Or Hot on this site.. it really flavored the broth.. i used an extra cup of chicken broth b/c the soup looked too thick.. left out the potatoes, pasta, salt, and pepper.. i subbed the kidney beans with great northern.. and only cooked the soup until the veggies were tender.. didn't add the parm.. this was a good base but i think the original recipe would have been salty and overpowered by black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I love this recipe! I did not add noodles but added Quinoa instead and used white beans. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Cut the salt and pepper in half, use linguica (for authenticity) and this is a tasty winter soup. Don't overcook any of the ingredients in order to avoid mushy pasta. That said, there is no way I could "brown" the cubed potatoes in 2 minutes on top of all the other ingredients. No need to anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
We really didn't care for this dish. It was too mushy for a soup and was on the salty side. Maybe the potatoes we used were all too big, but the soup was more like a stew. We had to add a lot more water to make it an appropriate soup. Flavor was OK, but not impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
great hardy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Fabulous recipe! Having to be gluten free I omitted the macaroni and added another pototo. I also substituted the kidney beans with sprouted mung beans...SPECTACULOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
THIS SOUP WAS GOOD. I USED LINGUESA INSTEAD OF SAUSAGE. A KEEPER FOR SURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Amazing great winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Had a bunch of kale to use and was looking for something a little different. Made this tonight for dinner -- YUM! (1) I don't think it matters if you use beef or chicken broth; personal preference wins out (2) Agree that with the polish sausage you can cut back on salt and paper. Did add a bit of rosemary as a previous contributor suggested. Very nice tough. (3) Began the recipe before realizing I was out of potatoes AND the elbow macaroni. Substituted 2 cups of parmesan tortellini . . . thinking I'll make it this way always! Personally, I think any pasta will suffice. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady
Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA
Living In: Inkom, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States