Easy Portuguese Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I really liked this cookie. It tastes just like a cookie my mom makes. It's not too sweet, but very dense, which makes it great with a cup of coffee. My kids liked using the cookie cutters with these cookies, although it did take longer with them helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
A great cookie recipe, simple and good flavor. Everyone that trys one has good comments on it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I made the first batch with the original 24qty recipe. My guys loved them so much that the next day I found all the ingredients needed to make them on top of the counter. So I went back into the web site and changed the amount for 96. But unfortunately they are coming out with a sour after taste. Can any one help me figure out why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These cookies are great for people who like a denser more cake-like cookie. Very simple. They are not very sweet so would be better with something, such as coffee, like D-ANNA suggests. As for the bitter aftertaste in larger recipes, Zira Julio, my guess would be the baking powder is the problem. Try cutting back on it a little and see what happens. If that doesn't work, it must be the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
These are a not-too-sweet cake like cookie and I really enjoyed them. I had to use 3 tablespoons of half and half because my dough was a little dry, but that could be a lot of different things other than how the recipe was written. Very good!! I imagine these would be fantastic with coffee and I'll be trying that out in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made them smaller by cutting them into medicine cups. I loved them. They were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
very good cookie. dough is easy to work with. we frosted them with a powdered sugar icing. perfect balance of sweet but not too sweet. only our first batch really StuckToThePan!!! we then used parchment paper with no problems. next time i will try them on a GREASED cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Dough was a little difficult to work with, but cookies came out looking fabulous. This reminded me a little of Amish sugar cookies in texture (you can find them on allrecipes as well). Too much cornstarch though (gave it a sour aftertaste). These looked nice, but I would never make them again due to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
made them and did not come out.had as a rock and to taste. did not wat to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States