Easy Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I loved the addition of all of the spices in this dish, comparred to other simular recipes from the site. I used a bottle of Sam Adams Cranberry Lambic, and that made for a wonderful tasting roast. If your roast came out dry, my suggestion would be to use the entire 12 oz. of beer, otherwise there will not be enough liquid, hence the dry roast. Good recipe Bianca, served with mashed potatoes & applesauce as suggested = yum. Thanks! (Hi Manda, the point of the apple is to take the tart out of the sauerkraut. Happy Cooking, better luck next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This was my first experience with sauerkraut. My hub requested it because his mom always used to make it. It is strong flavored but I really like it. Follow the guidelines and have it with mashed potatoes and applesauce to kind of ease the strong flavor. I follow the recipe exactly except skip the beer and it is really very delicious. My hub says it is better than his moms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This was a good recipe. I did not have the time to cook it in the crock pot so I cooked it on the stove for an hour. I will make this again, maybe with the caraway seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I think the secret of this recipe is to start with a good tasting sauerkraut. I made the recipe exactly as written with the exception of adding a few caraway seeds. I also used sliced kielbasa instead of the pork. My wife even commented on how great this turned out. Five stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this in the crockpot today and it was fabulous! My 13 y.o. son had a couple of friends over, and they liked it alot. I used 2 1/2 lbs. of pork instead of 1, and used a 1 lb. container of fresh, locally made sauerkraut. This one's definitely a keeper, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Loved this recipe!!! My grandmother was Pennsylvania dutch and this tasted just like hers, only less fatty because she would use either a whole roast or bone-in chops. I added garlic also, and the carraway seed as suggested by a previous viewer...delicious!! I would love to try it with the cranberry beer as someone indicated. I like to use a thicker chop, and cook it slow. I love the zing of sauerkraut too, but the hubby doesn't so the apple really helped. He said this recipe is the only way he'll eat sauerkraut. Add a little scallion to your mashed potatoes, and spoon this over them and it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I really loved this recipe especially since myself and my kids don't really like sauerkraut. I made this recipe on a night when I had my mom over and she loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My mom makes a pork and sauerkraut dish that I was looking for when I found this recipe, and this one was even better! I followed the recipe almost exactly... but my pork loin was over 2 lbs, so I doubled everything except for the apple. I also added about a tsp of caraway seeds. I didn't cube the roast either, I just cut two long slits lengthwise and stuffed them with sauerkraut, then broke broke the roast up as it cooked. Excellent meal, and it was exactly what we were looking for on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
this was amazing. everyone loved it. it went really well with the mash potatos. i used an apple in the recipe as suggested. i had doubled on most of the ingredients to make extra. it was a tradition in my family to make this for new years. i think this was the best it has ever tasted. the apple and the beer make a huge difference in the taste. im not sure if my mom did that. i was worried that i had used too much beer, (i used 2 full beers) but it cooked all day long and by the time it was finished it was perfect. everyone loved it, we ate many left-overs and it tatested great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great!! like an old-fashion farm meal. We took some of the juice and made dumplings. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Easy and Elegant Pork Tenderloin

This roast is simple to prepare, and impressive enough for the fanciest occasions

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States