Easy Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My mom makes a pork and sauerkraut dish that I was looking for when I found this recipe, and this one was even better! I followed the recipe almost exactly... but my pork loin was over 2 lbs, so I doubled everything except for the apple. I also added about a tsp of caraway seeds. I didn't cube the roast either, I just cut two long slits lengthwise and stuffed them with sauerkraut, then broke broke the roast up as it cooked. Excellent meal, and it was exactly what we were looking for on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
i used apple juice instead of beer becuase other recipes called for apple juice. was good but the flavors weren't strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I don't know what happened but it turned out awful. I couldn't eat it. I am originally from PA dutch country so I know how it usually tastes. This wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I omitted the beer and there was enough juices with the sauerkraut. I would drain the kraut if I used the beer otherwise it would be too soupy. The dill and garlic taste great. I really enjoyed this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I really loved this recipe especially since myself and my kids don't really like sauerkraut. I made this recipe on a night when I had my mom over and she loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Great idea in crock pot. This is Penn Dutch dish my Mom would serve on New Year's Day for good luck for the whole year. My Dad added potatoes and carrots toward the end of cooking for a one pot meal. He was Norwegian so he had to have potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Loved this recipe!!! My grandmother was Pennsylvania dutch and this tasted just like hers, only less fatty because she would use either a whole roast or bone-in chops. I added garlic also, and the carraway seed as suggested by a previous viewer...delicious!! I would love to try it with the cranberry beer as someone indicated. I like to use a thicker chop, and cook it slow. I love the zing of sauerkraut too, but the hubby doesn't so the apple really helped. He said this recipe is the only way he'll eat sauerkraut. Add a little scallion to your mashed potatoes, and spoon this over them and it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Made this in the crockpot. It came out more like a soup but was good. Probably wouldn't use beer, too much liquid. Served with potatoes and applesauce as suggested. Good, cheap meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is so tasty! I added a little garlic and onion powder to it. (Maybe a teaspoon of each) I also added about a half teaspoon more onion salt. I think next time I will use one inch thick pork chops cubed instead of pork roast. I don't like the dark meat so much. The apple sauce and mashed potato accompaniments were delicious. Served it with a nice Belgian beer. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this in the crockpot today and it was fabulous! My 13 y.o. son had a couple of friends over, and they liked it alot. I used 2 1/2 lbs. of pork instead of 1, and used a 1 lb. container of fresh, locally made sauerkraut. This one's definitely a keeper, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Easy and Elegant Pork Tenderloin

This roast is simple to prepare, and impressive enough for the fanciest occasions

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States