Easy Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday. This is a HUGE hit!!! Exchanged the pork roast for bratwurst sausages, that I cut up into 1 inch chunks. Also, couldn't find dry mustard, used a few squirts of regular mustard. This came out delicious, and everyone kept going back for more. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
id go with a pork tenderloin. when i made this, it was a good flavor, but the meat was pulling apart enough as to make the bits of pork blend well with the other stuff. the pork roast kinda binds up. its not bad, but i think a higher quality meat is much better. also, throw in there two keilbasa pieces to give a little fatty content and its yumx2. i like the mustard, dill, onion and apple combo. its a good recipe, but needs a lot of tinkering to get it right..so that its awesome on 'taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I tried this for the first time and thought the pork turned out very dry. I make very sour kraut and pork and do a very good job! I shown this recipe to my wife and she said let's try it for the New year. The sour kraut and it's flavor was very good, but the pork roast was very dry and we picked it out of our sour kraut. I followed the recipe to the T. We had our roast cut from the butcher and we checked it off and on for tenderness. I'll go back my own way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
AS CLOSE TO MY ORIGINAL AS POSSIBLE. USE CIDER AND VINEGAR NOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this today, but used dried dill. It was flavorful and delicious. My piece of apple disintegrated into the sauerkraut when I stirred it, and it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I never really liked pork and sauerkraut when I was growing up, but this recipe is very tasty. I made a double batch in my crock pot for a church fellowship meal. Everybody really enjoyed it. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mychubbyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
We used pork chops, and browned them first. We also added sliced onions, a little bit of brown sugar, horseradish mustard and fresh garlic. It was very good, but could use a little more flavor and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great!! like an old-fashion farm meal. We took some of the juice and made dumplings. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This is a really nice basic crockpot recipe! Instead of a roast, I used two extra thick pork chops, added some onion soup powder (I didn't have onion salt), extra garlic and omitted the apple (I like the sauerkraut zing!)..Will make again but may add more liquid as I LOVED the juices! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Quick and easy baked pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States