Easy Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. So glad I found this recipe. Pork shoulder is one of my favorite roasts -- it gets fall-apart-tender when you braise it like this. Wonderful flavors. My husband loved it. Will definitely make again. A few hints. I seared it in a dutch oven, then just added the rest of ingredients and braised it in the same pot. Cooked uncovered for the final half hour so the sauce would reduce slightly. Then to remove some of the fat, once cooked, I moved the roast to a platter, then put a colander over another pot and poured everything into it. Then I put the sauce into a fat separator, and put everything back into the pot together with the leftover juices (sans fat). Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was a hit with the fam. My mom even dropped by unexpectedly and ended up eating with us- loved it! The meat wasn't dry at all and really loved the beans with it. Didn't have any rosemary and will add a little of that next time. Definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Very good recipe for an inexpensive cut of meat. I didn't have any shallots but that didn't seem to hurt the recipe. I served it with white rice. Good meal on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was the most tender pork roast I've ever cooked (even better than a crock pot!). Didn't have shallots but used a lg leek and a can of northern white beans instead of the cannallinis. I'm going to try this with a beef roast next week!! Oh, I did the whole thing in a big cast iron skillet. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is a sound recipe. I was looking for a quick, easy recipe for a bargain pork shoulder roast I recently bought and started with this. Even though I didn't have most of the listed ingredients (forcing me to substitute canned peeled tomato strips for the stewed tomatoes, dried navy beans for cannellini, granulated onion for the chopped onion and shallots, dried rosemary for fresh, and bottled minced garlic for fresh cloves), the results were more than satisfactory. I look forward to trying the recipe as published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was very good. The only thing I would cut down on is the rosemary(unless you like it, which we don't) other than that it was great. will make this again and again. oh and taste even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Beliveau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used white wine instead of beer and a can of diced tomatoes because that was what I had, and Oh. My. Goodness. Melt in the mouth tender, great and classic flavor combination and excellent, classic technique. This is one of my new go-tos for an easy winter meal. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne G.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wow! Great recipe! I made some adjustments and it turned out much better than I expected - extremely tender and full of flavor. I rubbed the pork shoulder with garlic powder, salt, & pepper before searing on the stove; mixed canned diced tomatoes with Italian stewed tomatoes; substituted the beer with red wine (used about 1 1/2 cups for a 5 lb. roast); diced the shallots and garlic; added more seasonings (thyme, italian mix, and garlic powder); mixed everything together first to taste before pouring over the seared pork shoulder in a crock pot and cooked on High for 5 hours. We're pretty critical when it comes to new recipes, but couldn't find anything we'd change for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Wonderful to have for a crowd or for freezing for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is the best pork roast ever. Delicious, tender, succulent. I used a white onion and a 14 oz can of tomatoes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Please try this if you like roast pork. Lady Alethea is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States