Easy Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This recipe is awesome! This was my first attempt ever making a roast of any kind. My fiance bought a pork shoulder roast at the grocery store because it was on sale for super-cheap, but I had no idea what to do with it. Then I saw "Easy Pork Roast" and thought: "Easy. Excellent!" So I went to the store and bought a roasting pan and made this. It truly was incredibly easy to make. I couldn't believe cooking a roast was as easy as browning it and throwing it in a pan with some veggies and beer and then leaving it alone for hours. It is so tender it fell to pieces as I carved it and we ended up eating it in a bowl with all the veggies and sauce. It was really more like a stew. The best part is it tastes even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This recipe was GREAT, I don't eat pork but my family loved it. I cooked for 2 1/2 hours and uncovered for 50 minutes, I took the roast out and let most of liquid evaporate, I then made angel hair pasta and mixed the stuff from the roast and the family loved it.... It was weird with the beans and pasta but it worked!!! Great reacipe and thanks for sharing!!! Oh and I used "Stella" beer ....soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Covington, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written other than I sprinkled on dry rosemary. The meat was so tender it fell right off the bone. Perfect meal for someone on a budget and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxgorman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Yummy! I love rosemary but I felt like it was a little over powering in this dish. Next time I'll probably use 1/2-1/3 the amount suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is good. I doubled the tomatoes, used 1.5 cups of red wine instead of beer and chopped the fresh rosemary and added it along with fresh thyme to the tomato mixture. I found the cooking time to be correct (4.3 lb roast), though I might have added a bit more liquid to the pan when I turned up the heat for the remaining hour. The meat and tomato and bean "ragout" were really yummy. The only complaint that I have is not with the recipe itself, but this is the first time that I've cooked this cut of pork, and I didn't realize how fatty it is. Pork fat is good stuff, but this dinner was very heavy. Also, clean up was not fun, but the recipe itself is good and worth a try if you like this cut of meat. Oh, and I don't think that rice is necessary as a side. Instead I'd suggest a green vegetable or salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Really good,very forgiving recipe. Works well even if you don't have the exact ingredients. Left overs are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kattigan
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
DELICIOUS. I followed the recipe almost to the T... I didn't have any shallots so I used green onions instead. Everything was great about this recipe. The smell of it while it was cooking made my neighboring apartment dwellers jealous. I will definitely make this again and again. UPDATE... I tried this again today. As I had plans that were going to keep me away from my home for the day, I decided to make this in my crockpot instead. It was even better! I followed the seasoning to the T... the only difference is that instead of roasting it in the oven, I cooked it on low for 8 hours in my crockpot. The crockpot is much smaller than my roasting pan so the liquids almost completely surrounded the pork. My boyfriend enjoyed it so much he went back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was a hit with the fam. My mom even dropped by unexpectedly and ended up eating with us- loved it! The meat wasn't dry at all and really loved the beans with it. Didn't have any rosemary and will add a little of that next time. Definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is the best pork roast ever. Delicious, tender, succulent. I used a white onion and a 14 oz can of tomatoes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Please try this if you like roast pork. Lady Alethea is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used white wine instead of beer and a can of diced tomatoes because that was what I had, and Oh. My. Goodness. Melt in the mouth tender, great and classic flavor combination and excellent, classic technique. This is one of my new go-tos for an easy winter meal. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne G.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States