Easy Pleasy Mac N Cheesy - US Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and we thought it to be the best mac and cheese we have ever had. It was very moist and flavorful. I found it to be a recipe that will serve more than 6. The two of us will be eating it for several days! Thank you for sharing this recipe. My husband is AF retired but the Navy serves really good food! Thank you also for serving in the armed forces. You are special people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was great to pull together for a last minute clean out the fridge and fill in the gaps dinner. I used whole wheat elbow macaroni, reduced fat sour cream and half Velveeta and half shredded cheddar cheese. (It gives it more of a flavor like the macaroni and cheese that Mom made for me when I was a kid with gov'ment cheese.) I don't normally keep saltines on hand so I used crushed Ritz crackers. I didn't get to try this but my husband and boys seemed to like it so much that nothing remains. I served this with leftover bacon wrapped meatloaf and a fresh green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good! I decided to make this last night, but I forgot to get the condensed cheddar cheese soup so I used crm chicken soup instead. I also put in some chopped grilled chicken. I used 4oz velveeta and 8oz sharp shredded cheddar just because I love the flavor. Topped it with panko crumbs mixed in melted butter. Difinately the best baked mac n cheese I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt jean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KiwiOz0708
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was gobbled up right away!! Creamy and cheesy just as macaroni and cheese should be! Added a dash of garlic powder and a dash of cayenne pepper! Those spices were the perfect touch that made everyone go, whats in this?! Definitely making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiwiOz0708

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made exactly as written and enjoyed the nice creamy delicious results. I might change using Ritz (buttery style crackers) instead of the saltines but otherwise nothing else needs to be changed. I like the other reviewer who suggested adding tuna, that be something to try the next time. Thanks for posting this super easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is the creamiest mac and cheese recipe I’ve ever made, was a big hit with my family. I doubled the recipe and baked in 10X15 casserole dish. I used 2% Velveeta cheese, light sour cream and 2% milk. I didn’t have enough sour cream, as doubling called for a full 2 cups, I only had a bit over one cup, and so I grated some Colby Jack cheese along with the parmesan cheese (which I eyeballed both amounts, but probably totaled a cup and half together of shredded cheese). I also didn’t have any crackers so I topped with French Fried Onions (the kind you use on green bean casserole). I spiced it with some shakes of black pepper, cayenne pepper and granulated garlic powder; along with the fried onions on top it had a marvelous flavor to it. If I don’t have the fried onions, I would add a teaspoon of onion powder to it also. I baked just the mac and cheese mixture covered for thirty minutes, then uncovered and topped with the fried onions and baked another eight minutes until lightly golden brown. For those that did try this and felt it was missing something, try the fried onions on top in lieu of the crackers. This is now our official mac and cheese recipe…and we’ve tried quite a few on this website…thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Hands down thee creamiest and more decadent baked macaroni and cheese ever. I had never thought to use cheese soup or sour cream. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. And thank you so much for serving our country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I threw in a can of Tuna drained well. It was to die for Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this tonight and it was so delicious! I have been looking for a baked Mac N Cheese dish for a while now and they have all fallen short. This one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I didn't have any sour cream but was dying for mac and cheese. I added more cheddar and it was a little dry, but delicious. Next time will be sure to have sour cream on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States