Easy Pleasy Mac N Cheesy - US Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I doubled the recipe except the condensed cheese soup I stay with the 11oz and also switched the saltine crackers with ritz as mentioned before. The best macaroni and cheese I've ever made it was in a 13x8 pan so had to cook for a good bit longer but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Super yummy. I've tried many mac n cheese recipes. This is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this and it was delicious EXCEPT...I used Tostitos Salsa Con queso instead of Velveeta Cheese.(just cause I had the Tostito's Salsa on hand) I didn't use the soup...I used cream cheese instead and instead of sour cream I used Greek yogurt. I used 1 can milk....diced onion, cayenne pepper, grated pepper jack cheese, and butter and Panko for topping. Oh....I guess I pretty much changed this up but it was Soooo good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I guess I'm an old school Mac girl that likes the egg and sharp cheddar blend. This could be good with a little tweaking but this is my review for as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
A couple of years ago, we had a contest. Everyone made Mac and Cheese. I had heard of the Navy recipe, and found this. Everyone thought that they had the "best" recipe, but this was picked by the group as #1. We've been making it ever since. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
oh dear. This is one of those recipes that becomes an obsession. I have made it 3 times in the last 2 weeks. It's good the next day cold or re-heated. The only change I've made so far is to double the amount of saltines & melted butter which I did because I love the crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
The tanginess imparted by sour cream serves to underscore the cheese flavor, but we felt that one full cup was overkill. We don't want to taste the sour cream - we're all about the CHEESE! The reduction to 1/2 cup as others have noted, is just about right, replacing the remaining 1/2 cup with milk. As I didn't serve it immediately, the sauce tightened up considerably during the wait, so I blended in even more milk. I didn't measure how much, but if I had to guess, I'd say it was about an additional 1/4-1/3 cup. Just make it slightly looser than you think you need, because the starch in the pasta absorbs liquid readily. Sautéed some boneless chicken breasts, cut into small cubes, in garlic butter with fresh thyme and folded in to make it a complete meal. A hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This recipe was a hit. I'm never a big fan of mac and cheese but made this one and my family loved it. This will probably be our go to mac and cheese recipe. I'm going to try to add bacon next time. I read the review with the Ritz crackers and I will probably try that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Incredible. If you are looking for a Velveeta based mac and cheese this is the one! I used 1/4 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper and Club crackers because that is what I had on hand. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States