Easy Pleasy Mac N Cheesy - US Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Very good base macaroni n cheese recipe. I've made it a few times now and it seems as though picky eaters find it particularly delicious and for those with a more open palette it's easy for them to add additional seasonings to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I have yet to find the perfect mac and cheese recipe...Although this was ok it just wasnt what I was looking for :( It was not as flavorful as i like and not creamy enough for my taste I might try this recipe again and decrease the macaroni a bit. I also didnt do the cracker topping i topped mine with bacon as I always do with my mac and cheese recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very good mac and cheese, in fact this is my go-to now. The first time I made this I followed the recipe directions exactly. We didn't care for the little bits of unmelted Velveeta in the finished dish so now I warm the sauce ingredients enough to melt the cheese and it's wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe and thanks for your service to our country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
It was really good except instead of crackers I used bread crumbs. Turned out amazing thank you. Also thank you for your service!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
made this first because who can go wrong with a military recipe...family LOVED it...and now request it alot! I make it at 1.5 times the recipe. leaving the soup the same...and the snack packs of Ritz crackers that have 15 ish per pack. crush them along with a handful of saltines! other variation is 4 oz of Velveeta and using a 2 cup measuring cup fill the remainder to get to 2 cups with shredded cheddar! did this the first time out of necessity and it was a hit! love love Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I don't know if it was the quality of the processed cheese that I used (store brand vs name brand) or that I substituted cream of mushroom soup (and it was 98% fat free), but the taste was very bland, and I didn't like that the cheese was in globs in the dish. I didn't use the cracker topping, so after the 30 minutes I stirred it up to incorporate the cheese into the sauce and put it back into the oven for a few minutes. The taste was just lacking something. I put a bag of shredded sharp cheddar (8 oz) into it and mixed it all up again and baked it another 10 minutes. The sauce prior to the cheddar was on the loose side and after was very rich. I think I may have used a little too much. Next time I'm going to use the cheddar soup and a little bit of dry mustard (before adding any cheddar) and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was awesome! Instead of cheddar cheese soup, I used cream of mushroom soup, and added about a cup each of mozzarella and mild cheddar cheese in addition to the velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I’m 28 and have never like Mac-N-Cheese. I’ve made dozens of recipes, I always try Mac-N-Cheese when I encounter it at someone’s house or restaurant, determined to figure out why so many people like this delicious sounding comfort food without success, until now. I’ve finally seen the light and it’s a creamy cheesy glorious light, this is the Mac-N-Cheese that would be served in Heaven. I had 20 people over for Christmas dinner 2014 and I served a double recipe and it was a huge hit. Everyone raved on and on about it, I’ve made this a couple times since and I’m constantly getting request to make it for potlucks. Seriously if you’ve been on the fence about Mac-N-Cheese or you’re just a lover of it and looking for a great recipe, look no further. Trust me and my 28 year search and give this one a shot, you won’t regret it. Thank you Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl for sharing this with us. P.S. I served in the navy for 10 years and I’ve never been served anything this good, thankfully for us you got lucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
The flavor was good but the proportions were waaaaay off! After six of us ate this as a side dish with our meal, I went back and cooked another batch of the pasta. I added this to the remainder with an additional cup of milk and it was much better. Otherwise its like you are eating a spoonful of melted cheese. And I used light sour cream and 2% velvetta. Not my familys favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
When I joined the Navy the Mac and cheese was excellent. When I got out of the Navy just four short years later, it had gone down hill. In efforts to be more health conscious, the cooks were not allowed to add cheese to the Mac and Cheese. This recipe is exactly what the Mac and cheese was like in the early years of my enlistment and it was a major hit in my house. I made it wrong, first time out, because I only had cream of chicken soup in my pantry, but even with that, it was still excellent. I can't wait to make it again - exactly to the recipe. Bravo Zulu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States