Easy Pleasy Mac N Cheesy - US Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I will never use another Mac N Cheese recipe ever again! This makes the stuff from the box look like cardboard. If you love CREAMY mac n cheese this is the recipe for you. I did melt the cheese in a pan before mixing with the noodles to help make sure it was evenly cheesy. I also added some garlic powder. cooked it for 30 minutes. Other than that didn't change anything and have made it three times already!! Love love love! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My immediate, and extended, family loves this dish. I make it all the time for gatherings. Instead of saltines, I use Ritz crackers and I use 1.5 sleeves, crushed, and mix with 1 stick of melted butter so it covers the entire dish. Nothing like that crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very tasty! In fact I surprised myself about how good this recipe is - I suppose I associated mac/cheese with that horrid boxed stuff so to satisfy my grandson's insistence, I thought I'd try this recipe instead. Now he will only eat "this", not "that" and the whole family enjoys it along with him. Instead of cracker crumbs, I sometimes top with grated cheddar cheese along with panko, which adds a pleasant crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Seriously this is the best macaroni and cheese EVER. And I love mac and cheese. Out of the many, many dishes I made for Easter this was the favorite of my kids (all 3) and myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was very good. I made with the sour cream but had to substitute other cheeses for Velveeta. I will make it again and follow directions, as written. I, too, am looking for a thinner, whiter "lunchroom" type of mac and cheese. As I prepared it, it wasn't exactly what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was super easy! Made for my grandmother's memorial. Thank you!! I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by God's Child
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was excellent, way better then any other mac & cheese I have had. The only chages I made were to add 1/3 cup of finely chopped fresh cilatro to the mix & grated a little cheddar cheese on top & crushed some italian season croutons since I didnt have saltine crackers on hand. I will definately make this again, makes me want to join the Navy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Hands down thee creamiest and more decadent baked macaroni and cheese ever. I had never thought to use cheese soup or sour cream. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. And thank you so much for serving our country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I didn't have any sour cream but was dying for mac and cheese. I added more cheddar and it was a little dry, but delicious. Next time will be sure to have sour cream on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good, but I'd prefer it with more cheese and less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States