Easy Pleasy Mac N Cheesy - US Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made 2 pans and ran out of foil, so I only covered 1. The 2nd pan still came out okay, but the covered one was much better! All my employees complimented the dish at our potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I have tried more mac 'n cheese recipes than I care to remember ... looking for that elusive "just right" taste. I have finally found it with this recipe. I used the basic recipe and followed some advice from other cooks. I used Fiesta Cheese soup for a little more "zing", only abut 3/4 of a cup of sour cream (it was all I had), used a freshly grated, three-cheese Italian blend, had a little over a cup of shredded cheddar on hand and threw it in, added some ground red pepper and finally, used round butter crackers instead of saltines. This will be my ONLY macaroni and cheese recipe from now on. Plus, the leftovers warmed up very nicely (be sure to add a little extra moisture when reheating). Thank you, Muffin Mom - this granny is very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I will never use another Mac N Cheese recipe ever again! This makes the stuff from the box look like cardboard. If you love CREAMY mac n cheese this is the recipe for you. I did melt the cheese in a pan before mixing with the noodles to help make sure it was evenly cheesy. I also added some garlic powder. cooked it for 30 minutes. Other than that didn't change anything and have made it three times already!! Love love love! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My immediate, and extended, family loves this dish. I make it all the time for gatherings. Instead of saltines, I use Ritz crackers and I use 1.5 sleeves, crushed, and mix with 1 stick of melted butter so it covers the entire dish. Nothing like that crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very tasty! In fact I surprised myself about how good this recipe is - I suppose I associated mac/cheese with that horrid boxed stuff so to satisfy my grandson's insistence, I thought I'd try this recipe instead. Now he will only eat "this", not "that" and the whole family enjoys it along with him. Instead of cracker crumbs, I sometimes top with grated cheddar cheese along with panko, which adds a pleasant crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Seriously this is the best macaroni and cheese EVER. And I love mac and cheese. Out of the many, many dishes I made for Easter this was the favorite of my kids (all 3) and myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was very good. I made with the sour cream but had to substitute other cheeses for Velveeta. I will make it again and follow directions, as written. I, too, am looking for a thinner, whiter "lunchroom" type of mac and cheese. As I prepared it, it wasn't exactly what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was super easy! Made for my grandmother's memorial. Thank you!! I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by God's Child
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was excellent, way better then any other mac & cheese I have had. The only chages I made were to add 1/3 cup of finely chopped fresh cilatro to the mix & grated a little cheddar cheese on top & crushed some italian season croutons since I didnt have saltine crackers on hand. I will definately make this again, makes me want to join the Navy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Hands down thee creamiest and more decadent baked macaroni and cheese ever. I had never thought to use cheese soup or sour cream. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. And thank you so much for serving our country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States