Easy Pleasy Mac N Cheesy - US Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I love this recipe! It was so much easier to make than the usual mac & cheese with making the roux and all of that. I followed it exactly, but melted then velveeta and mixed all ingredients in a bowl, then added cooked pasta. I had a bad experience in the past where the cubed velveeta didn't melt all the way, and it wasn't good. It was super rich & creamy and I don't think it will be dry for leftovers like a lot of mac & cheese gets. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Good, but a bit too rich to eat by itself. Better as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious! Even my super picky 1-year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I usually make mac n cheese from scratch and this was a very easy recipe. I made it the first time exactly as described. The second time I didn't have all the ingredients, so I made some changes. I didn't have enough Velveeta, so I substituted cubed cheddar cheese I had. It was good, but the cheese didn't melt as well as the velveeta, so it may need to be stirred during cooking if you do that. I also didn't have sour cream, so I added an extra 1/4 cup of milk. I didn't have fresh Parmesan, so I used the grated Parmesan I had in the fridge. I also substituted cream of chicken soup for the cheddar cheese soup. Both verisons were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very pleasant tasting. The only suggestion I have is that it needs just a tad more macaroni. Not nearly the other half a 1 lb box.. but this recipe needs a good 10-12 oz macaroni, not just 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was creamy just not enough cheese flavor. Reminded me of mac & cheese @ WalMart or KFC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I doubled the recipe so I wouldn't have to cook for a night or two (actually we're on our third night of this- but it's tasty!). I used half each Velveeta & shredded extra-old cheddar, half each sour cream & fat-free plain yogurt and added a teaspoon each onion, garlic & mustard powders (I would cut the garlic down to half a teaspoon next time though). Made the rest of the recipe as described in the directions. I served this with herb-garlic bread the first night and baked cocoa-coffee rubbed chicken the second night (and tonight as well!). I like the idea of adding tuna to this, or serving it with hot dogs like I had as a kid. I do have another 'mac and cheese' recipe we love, but it's a little costly to make due to the ingredients used. This is a tasty, cheaper alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was good but the sour cream does overpower the dish. I think I would just use 1/2c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Easily the best Mac N Cheese ever -- Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was pretty good. The only issue my family discovered was that the Velveeta cheese didn't melt all the way in certain places. Some spots it was great and others it seemed barely melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley
Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States