Easy Pleasy Mac N Cheesy - US Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Hands down thee creamiest and more decadent baked macaroni and cheese ever. I had never thought to use cheese soup or sour cream. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. And thank you so much for serving our country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I didn't have any sour cream but was dying for mac and cheese. I added more cheddar and it was a little dry, but delicious. Next time will be sure to have sour cream on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good, but I'd prefer it with more cheese and less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I love this recipe! It was so much easier to make than the usual mac & cheese with making the roux and all of that. I followed it exactly, but melted then velveeta and mixed all ingredients in a bowl, then added cooked pasta. I had a bad experience in the past where the cubed velveeta didn't melt all the way, and it wasn't good. It was super rich & creamy and I don't think it will be dry for leftovers like a lot of mac & cheese gets. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Good, but a bit too rich to eat by itself. Better as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious! Even my super picky 1-year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I usually make mac n cheese from scratch and this was a very easy recipe. I made it the first time exactly as described. The second time I didn't have all the ingredients, so I made some changes. I didn't have enough Velveeta, so I substituted cubed cheddar cheese I had. It was good, but the cheese didn't melt as well as the velveeta, so it may need to be stirred during cooking if you do that. I also didn't have sour cream, so I added an extra 1/4 cup of milk. I didn't have fresh Parmesan, so I used the grated Parmesan I had in the fridge. I also substituted cream of chicken soup for the cheddar cheese soup. Both verisons were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very pleasant tasting. The only suggestion I have is that it needs just a tad more macaroni. Not nearly the other half a 1 lb box.. but this recipe needs a good 10-12 oz macaroni, not just 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was creamy just not enough cheese flavor. Reminded me of mac & cheese @ WalMart or KFC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I doubled the recipe so I wouldn't have to cook for a night or two (actually we're on our third night of this- but it's tasty!). I used half each Velveeta & shredded extra-old cheddar, half each sour cream & fat-free plain yogurt and added a teaspoon each onion, garlic & mustard powders (I would cut the garlic down to half a teaspoon next time though). Made the rest of the recipe as described in the directions. I served this with herb-garlic bread the first night and baked cocoa-coffee rubbed chicken the second night (and tonight as well!). I like the idea of adding tuna to this, or serving it with hot dogs like I had as a kid. I do have another 'mac and cheese' recipe we love, but it's a little costly to make due to the ingredients used. This is a tasty, cheaper alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States