Easy Pleasy Mac N Cheesy - US Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this and it was delicious EXCEPT...I used Tostitos Salsa Con queso instead of Velveeta Cheese.(just cause I had the Tostito's Salsa on hand) I didn't use the soup...I used cream cheese instead and instead of sour cream I used Greek yogurt. I used 1 can milk....diced onion, cayenne pepper, grated pepper jack cheese, and butter and Panko for topping. Oh....I guess I pretty much changed this up but it was Soooo good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I guess I'm an old school Mac girl that likes the egg and sharp cheddar blend. This could be good with a little tweaking but this is my review for as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
A couple of years ago, we had a contest. Everyone made Mac and Cheese. I had heard of the Navy recipe, and found this. Everyone thought that they had the "best" recipe, but this was picked by the group as #1. We've been making it ever since. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
oh dear. This is one of those recipes that becomes an obsession. I have made it 3 times in the last 2 weeks. It's good the next day cold or re-heated. The only change I've made so far is to double the amount of saltines & melted butter which I did because I love the crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
The tanginess imparted by sour cream serves to underscore the cheese flavor, but we felt that one full cup was overkill. We don't want to taste the sour cream - we're all about the CHEESE! The reduction to 1/2 cup as others have noted, is just about right, replacing the remaining 1/2 cup with milk. As I didn't serve it immediately, the sauce tightened up considerably during the wait, so I blended in even more milk. I didn't measure how much, but if I had to guess, I'd say it was about an additional 1/4-1/3 cup. Just make it slightly looser than you think you need, because the starch in the pasta absorbs liquid readily. Sautéed some boneless chicken breasts, cut into small cubes, in garlic butter with fresh thyme and folded in to make it a complete meal. A hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This recipe was a hit. I'm never a big fan of mac and cheese but made this one and my family loved it. This will probably be our go to mac and cheese recipe. I'm going to try to add bacon next time. I read the review with the Ritz crackers and I will probably try that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Incredible. If you are looking for a Velveeta based mac and cheese this is the one! I used 1/4 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper and Club crackers because that is what I had on hand. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Just made this for dinner and it was delicious! My boyfriend and my kids Loved it! They can't get enough. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I like my Mac and cheese a bit on the peppery side and with sliced tomatoes sometimes. I've only had one other better than this recipe but this one is definitely a keeper. It's so easy to make. I'll be making it very often. I highly recommend this one if you're looking for a quick, easy and Delicious Mac and cheese recipe. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is the first Mac and cheese recipe that my kids request again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States