Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this "easy platz" for my family to rave reviews. Though it tasted great, I had a lot of ploblems getting the top of the confection to be golden brown. Also, the "crumble" on top disintegrated. Overall a great post berry picking treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jasmina
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
A delicious quick and easy cake to make.. I use a springform pan that has a hole in the center and it comes out perfect every time! I keep it in my cake stand overnight to soften up so it tastes even better the next day. I also mix in raspberries with the blackberries and everyone that has tried it loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
delightful. I used half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I certainly hope you read the reviews BEFORE you put this in the oven in the specified 9 in. square pan!! That's where mine is now, and I am thinking we'll be having this for lunch, since, apparently, breakfast will be long over by the time this coffeecake is baked through! Isn't there a way to revise this recipe so that it's correctly written? So far, I would characterize this a baking mishap, regardless of how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I was in the mood for coffee cake but all the recipes called for vanilla and I am out :( I'm glad I didn't give up searching because I wouldn't have found this recipe :) Blackberries are my most favorite berry, but I didn't have those either. What I had was fresh cranberries, about 1 1/2 cups. I decided to simmer them in water for a few minutes so they would be tender like the blackberry. I strained them and set them aside to cool. I substituted sugar with Fructevia and followed the remainder of the recipe as written. My pan size was 8 x 11. It came out very nice, not too sweet. When there was about 5 minutes left of bake time, I realized I had not sprinkled the top with the flour mixture that had been set aside. I contemplated finishing without it, but said ''what the heck'' and quickly sprinkled. In that short time the edges browned, but the rest did not. The taste did not suffer, but I'm sure the topping would be that much better, with a toastiness (sp?) to it. I am looking forward to making this with the blackberries & intended topping in the near future. That's when I will add a photo :o) Thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I used Maslanka/buttermilk instead of the milk and baked it in a 9x13 pan. Tasted amazing! Next time I'll try adding some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
good and easy. After reading some of the reviews. Only thing I did different was I just halved the recipe and baked it in a 9 in pie pan. 27 mins was perfect. I think this recipe would work well for any type of berry. I think next time I might try using buttermilk instead, or add a touch of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This cake was great...I have to agree with many of the other reviewers about the thickness of the batter. I did it in a 9in round tin and my batter was pretty thick probably because I put in so many blackberries. It just took WAY longer to cook....so plan on 45 min to an hour...or else pick a pan that will make the batter much thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of vanilla extract and substituted the blackberries for blueberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
It tasted great, but I should have read the reviews first! It definitely needs a 9 x 13 pan. Will try it another time and use a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States