Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This batter needs to be kept to a thickness of 1/2 inch in the pan prior to adding the fruit of choice and crumbs on top. You will have difficulty with it baking completely if the batter is any thicker. I use an oblong cookie sheet with an edge or jelly roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maple bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This cake was quite good. I used a 9 inch round cake pan, and used apricot jam on top instead of the fruit called for. It took much longer for the cake to cook (at least 50 min in total) which may have been because of my substitution of the round pan. Unfortunately, because it took so much longer to cook, my company had to leave before the cake was even out of the oven! I will try this again though, with a square pan. It is really wonderful with the apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This is great and easy, but needs at least an hour to bake! I used mixed frozen berries and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This was terrific! I made it to bring into the office and it was a hit. I used frozen raspberries and it came out just fine. It was easy to make, and very delicious. I, too, found it took longer to bake, about 45 minutes in a square glass dish. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
this cake is the best! i was proving to a friend that baking a cake is so easy and better than buying one from the store...i also tried mixed frozen berries and it was yummy! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This recipe was so easy! I will definately make this one again! Although, it took about 55 minutes to bake. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This recipe is good but I will have to experiment further with it to make it right. I used freshly picked blackberries: the riper the better because they are extremely tart. The cake cooks for much longer than the recipe states, I cooked mine for 50 minutes on 350 (ovens vary) and the middle was a tad underdone still but the edges on the corners got burned. Perhaps I should make a few adjustments or use a glass pan next time. The topping, however, is fabulous. I love the crispness of it. This dish is best served with your favorite brand of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Tasted delicious, but wouldn't bake through the center. I doubled this recipe, using a square pan and 2 bread pans. The bread pans worked perfectly, but even after testing clean with a toothpick the square pan (at about 40 minutes of baking) was pudding-like in the center. I also reduced the butter to 1/2 c. per recipe and it was still very rich. Used chopped fresh apricots rather than blackberries and mixed them into the batter. Very tasty, just tricky to bake thoroughly. I might reduce the butter a little further and try as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Best coffee cake! I used large pan and made sure batter was only 1/2" thick like suggested in reviews. baked perfectly and on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This recipe is so delicious and inexpensive to make. I always have the ingredients on hand to make one of these in a hurry. I use a 9x9 glass square pan and cook it for an hour and it turns out perfectly every time. I have also substituted blueberries and apples (1 cup) for the blackberries and they all tasted like they came from a bakery. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States