Easy Platz (Coffee Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by KatieRando
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I love this recipe because all ingredients were on hand at home, and I didn't have to go to the store for anything. I took the advise of others and used a 9X13 dish so it was no thicker than 1/2 an inch thick, but it still needed to cook almost an hour. Be prepared for that. (I had a very anxious birthday girl waiting for her breakfast cake!!) :) Also, the blackberries we had weren't very good... not too sweet, so if that happens again, I think I'll just sprinkle some sugar on them before putting them on the cake - that should help. But the cake was a hit - we'll make it again for sure. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieRando

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a really good simple cake. I've made it with blueberries, strawberries, and even with chocolate chips. I want to try it with peaches and apples, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Great at any temperature but especially delicious warm, sprinkled with powdered sugar. I used 1 C wheat flour and 1 C all-purpose flour, producing a nutty flavor. I used 2 C frozen blackberries we'd picked earlier this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was ok. It was very easy, but I probably won't make it again. I used a 9x13 based on the suggestions, but it was just too much cake and not enough fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Very cobbler like. Added some chocolate chips for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zmo
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
It's not very sweet, but thats the way we like it. I made this yesterday for our bible study that evening. The entire cake was gone in minutes. I used Splenda instead of regular sugar (because people that I bake for, are diabetic). I baked it in an 8 x 11.5 glassware for 30 minutes. Next time I think I will add another 5 minutes for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was good, but not great. I used the correct size pan, and it still took longer to cook. I didn't have a lot of flavor. I would probably increase amount of fruit if I were to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a very good coffee cake. I used a 9 x 13 inch pan and baked it about 45 minutes. I like the fact that the ingredients are simple and usually on hand. I'll be making this again and experimenting with using different fruits and jams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Excellent! This is a five star recipe! I made it for a brunch, and it worked great. You could add more berries if you wanted though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was really good except mine just wouldn't get done in the middle, I baked it for about 45 minutes before taking it out because the edges were getting a little too brown. I think next time, I'll try a slightly larger pan, so it's not so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States