Easy Plain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I registered here simply to comment on this recipe. I could not believe it! There is no way no matter how precise you are with the measuring of this recipe that you will get a cake using the instructions exactly as they are listed here. I had to tweak the recipe so that it would be at the least the consistency of cake batter. Based on the other comments I am scared to see what it will taste like once it is our of the oven. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have just used this recipe, Instead of using less flour, add apple juice to get the consistency you prefer. It's just common sense, recipes are a guide, you don't have to follow them as if it were law. I also made this recipe, leaving out the fruit and choc chips, instead added a can of chopped pineapple with it's juice from the tin, came out perfect, oh and I added cinnamon as well. The easiest and most adaptable cake recipe I've found online. Cheers for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Well, this SOUNDED loike a goood recipe but it sucked. end of story. Well, that is unless you add amaretto and milk and amaretto it is also a great door stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
simply perfect! I used both chocolate chips and raisins and i added some nuts! Everyone loved it, will definitely do it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very easy recipe,i tweeked it a little.The first time i made it i added,cloves,cinnamonand ginger.The second time i added vanilla extract and topped it with the ( one minute chocolate icing recipe ) both times.Absolutely delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
it was really nice with some icing on top. I think i done well for a teenager cooking this. i will be cooking this again. people say it's too dry but why can't you just add what you want to it? I found it great because i didn't have to go out to the shops to get extra ingredients. I was really happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooky1234

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
this recipe needs some adjustments.. for the flour I's say 1 3/4 cups. and it need about 2 tbs of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I did not care for this recipe;someone left out some ingredient(s)or didn't know how to cook. Remember the old phrase,"don't try this at home"? Here's your sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States