Easy Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Thank you for the recipe. It was nice to get rid of some tomato paste and now I have a solid base for making my own sauces. However, I think if I had followed the portions exactly, it would have been too watery for a pizza sauce. I made the following modifications: 1. I reduced the water to about 3/4 cup 2. I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup 3. I combined everything in a sauce pan and heated it up for about 15 minutes 4. I added thyme and sugar to suit my tastes. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay-C

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
We liked this sauce. It is super easy and very good. I just made one pizza so had enough left over to freeze and use on another pizza later. I cut the water as suggested by some other reviewers to make the sauce a bit thicker... otherwise it would have been to runny for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisGG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is super delicious and very easy to make! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Yum, loved it. Only used 1 cup water. Also used the same spices in the dough I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Good sauce tried it today for the first time and it was a success . I halved the amount of water added 1 bay leave and instead of rosemary used thyme and last add 1 tsp of sugar. Will pass this on to my daughters , who's children love home baked Pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Definitely cut down on the amount of oil and water used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
After waiting 3 hours I was eating this like a soup! So much better than any commercial pizza sauce. I only used 1 cup water and 1 tsp each of basil and oregano; no rosemary at all. The main thing though to me was combining tomato paste, olive oil and water. I added 1/2 tsp salt and a small amount of black pepper then tried it and knew right away this would be good. Use this as a base then season it however you like. My imagination was stoked as much as my appetite. I covered the sauce and let it set on the counter for 3 hours. You could dip hot garlic bread in it or even use it over spaghetti ( I would cut back the oregano maybe for spaghetti). Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So so sauce. Too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Quick and easy, yes, but it needs more complexity. As written, it is much too watery. This was by far the thinnest sauce I've ever put on a pizza. After letting it sit for 4 hours, I found it much too acidic, so added 2 tsp brown sugar, which helped to mellow it and added another layer of flavor. I still prefer Exquisite Pizza Sauce, which takes only slightly more work, but tastes worlds better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I love this recipe! I am a personal chef and I have many clients with children. One of my menu options is "Make Your Own Pizza Night" and this is my go to sauce every time. I'm always looking for quick easy recipes that are tasty and this one fits the bill! Don't change a thing! I agree with some other viewers that it tastes better once it's had time to marinate in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States