Easy Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Easy, yes but way too watery if you follow the recipe. I adjusted the water down to 2/3 cup and replaced the oil with 2 Tbsp. of wine. I added a little salt and 1 tsp. of sugar along with a 1/4 tsp. of onion powder and cut back on the oregano, basil and rosemary to taste using a little over 1/4 tsp. each. Overall, not bad but don't use all that water unless you want a very, very thin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe is very good, there's place for making it your own, that's what I like about it, it makes a very good basic. I caramelise 1/2 cup of onions with the olive oil, then I add the garlic cloves, cut in slices. I add a can of whole peeled or diced tomatoes and then I mix the rest in it, I also add a bit of sugar just to break the acid from the tomatoes. Then I blend it a bit, so it stays chunky and you can't see the onions. Delicious, everybody wants more, this is a hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was making pizza for dinner tonight. When I took the crust out of the oven, I realized I didn't have any pizza sauce. So I searched for an easy pizza sauce recipe and found this one that I had all the ingredients for. I mixed up everything and then tasted it to make sure it tasted okay. Well, it tasted totally nasty. I decided to add a packet of sweetener to it. That only helped a little. I panicked because I was already late getting dinner on the table, and figured, 'well, I'll just put it on the pizza. Maybe it will taste better once it cooks.' Well, I was right. Once the pizza came out of the oven, every person in my family scarfed it down and asked for seconds. So in the end, it turned out well. Next time I might make a few adjustments to the recipe, and definitely add some sweetener. I just do not recommend tasting the sauce before you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very tasty and and it was very simple to make. Made for a Pizza party and friends could not believe it had been 'homemade'. They all raved about how good it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Too much water and oil in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I have tried so many recipes for pizza sauce, but this one is the best hands down. The bonus is that is so inexpensive to make. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
If you follow this recipe the results will be incredibly watery. I made this when we had friends over and no one even tried the sauce because of the consistency. My advice would be to use less water and then see if you need to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Decrease water to 1cup. Add more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I would give this a 3 star review as is, which is how I tried making it the first time around. With some tweaking, can definitely go up in rating. For pizza sauce, this is WAYYYYYY too watery. Next time I will try using only about 1/2 the water. And more seasoning. The recipe is a good starting point though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Definitely use WAY LESS water. I find that filling the 6 oz tomato paste can is just about right, may need a tad more but it's easy to adjust to the right consistency. The first time I made this I used the full amount stated in the recipe & had to thicken it up with additional tomato paste. However, this is very tasty & easy. I find it to be MUCH better than the jarred sauce I used to keep on hand. It definitely tastes better after sitting for several hours (refrigerated of course). I haven't bought jarred sauce now forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LT511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States