Easy Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Hi all, I am the submitter of this recipe. I have found that increasing the butter to 1/2 cup and the brown sugar to 3/4 cup makes this cake even better. I often mix a TBSP of dark rum and a TBSP of the drained pineapple juice to the sauce for added flavor. A can of crushed pineapple works well for this recipe also. Kaye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Quick and delicious!!! I mixed the cake batter by hand until smooth. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this for my CEO's birthday...per his wife, it's his favorite. I've never made Pineapple Upside Down Cake before so I was attracted to the word "Easy." Not only was it easy, but it got rave reviews from everyone in the office. I used the suggested variations (1/2 cup butter, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1 tablespoon of the drained pineapple juice) and it was perfect. I'd recommend this 100%!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamohr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
First off, Kaye Lynn contact Allrecipes and ask them to change your recipe. They are very good about that. Go here: http://allrecipes.com/help/Feedback.aspx Now for my review, as per the authors suggestion I used the 1/2 c. butter, 3/4 cup bwn sugar and 1 Tbsp juice. I did add the sugar and juice to the butter in the pan and melted it till it bubbled then I poured it in my 9" round pan. I also use the " Homemade Biscuit Mix" recipe found here on Allrecipes. This is a simple and delicious recipe, thank you Kaye Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was an easy great tasting recipe ...will keep this one...made it ...with the 1/2 c butter and 3/4 cup brown sugar ...YUMMMMMMMMMMMYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOGHOME24
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very Easy to make! Much easier than my Mom's old recipe..but I did use her lemon sauce recipe to make warm sauce to drizzle over this. Sorry for posting so many pictures. It didn't look like it worked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOGHOME24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I just made this, is tasted so good and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have to be honest, I liked the topping on this. However, the cake was just really bland. I wish I would have read the submitters review on this about making it sweeter or changing up the topping. I am one to think that most desserts are too sweet, however the cake part didn't hardly seem sweet at all. When first done it was very soft, but by the next day the cake was kind of doughy. I had thought the topping should have been a little more prominent too. Only change I made was using a homemade bisquick type mix. I have used it in many recipes calling for it with great results. I would follow the reviewers advice about increasing the butter and brown sugar and definitely add the nuts, it might add something to the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
so easy and sooooo good! As posted before, i used 1/2 c butter and 3/4 c. brown sugar and 1 tbs juice at the beginning and everything turned out amazing! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made this before following the directions. I did add cinnamon and a few grates of nutmeg in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patience

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States