Easy Pineapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
We love the spongelike texture of the cake and amazing icing. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I just want to say---wow! First, let me say that I am a baker. Just so we all know that I can cream butter and sugar. (smile). I baked this recipe twice and to no avail--it was a complete wreck. I followed the recipe to a "T". Okay a "3/4 T" because I used different sized baking pans. Clarity is needed on the bake time. I checked the cakes at 30 minutes as most pleased reviewers indicated the cake was done close to that time. Upon MY check, the cakes were still jiggly and my cake pick did not pull clean results so I left the cake in the oven. Should the cake just come out at 30 minutes and all jiggly??? The top of my cakes were very brown. Again, during the 30-minute-phase they were gorgeous but jiggly. I cut the cakes after they cooled and the inside was just as brown, if not browner than the outside. I'm glad to hear that some of you had great results but this baker---this cake was a flop! Now I have to replay another 2 hours of my life. Note: I baked the cakes in (2- 10inch rounds and 2 - 8inch rounds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I love love love this recipe so easy to make so yummy to eat my husband (the ghost) doesn't eat cake, how wrong ami,I only had 2slices he the rest...sylvia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Ritchie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I read the good reviews and believed that cake will be fine without the oil/butter, and I ended up with pineapple goop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made this exactly as stated and it is AMAZING! It's moist and rose perfectly! There were some reviews saying it was dry and didn't rise, I don't know what they did because this cake is amazing! My husband, who does not like sweets, liked this cake. It is not overly sweet and that's what we love! Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by c.cieri
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Followed recipe exactly.. So easy to make & so good. I read the reviews and maybe next time, will consider adding a little oil to the cake but really, it was great without it. The only thing was we couldn't wait till the cake was just "warm" to frost! I frosted it as soon as it came out of the oven, made a cup of coffee & dug in. Husband agrees, wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
So yummy and easy to make! The whole family loved it. We added some peanut butter chips and reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. I also made cupcakes. We got 2 dozen and it took about 18 minutes to make. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I liked this recipe, but it needs a little work. It's done in about 30 minutes or a little after when the top quickly turns a dark golden brown. Next time I might cut back the sugar to taste the pineapple a little more. My biggest complaint is that my cake didn't turn out as fluffy as I liked. I'm not sure why that happened. Maybe that's because baking soda is used instead of a double acting baking powder or because of the type of flour that is used. But there is acid in the pineapple juice to activate the baking soda. It may or may not need the butter. Mine was moist but a little rubbery. So I think I'll try the suggestion of 1 stick of butter next time. I also think the addition of some chopped nuts like walnuts or pecans could help the cake if it is going to be a heavy cake instead of a light fluffy one. As for the frosting, it turned out great. However, it is more like what I'd pair with carrot cake and probably not this one. It is very creamy without that sugar taste of buttercream frosting. If you like a creamy frosting try adding dried coconut and an 8 oz can of crushed pineapple. I'd drain the pineapple good otherwise your frosting will likely end up soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very simple recipe but the batter tasted better than the finished product. I will try it again with a few modifications. Reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cup, put about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of oil ( I put 1/4 cup this time and it was still a bit chewy) I added a tsp of cinnamon powder, next time I'll grate some nutmeg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
The reason this cake calls for the same amount of sugar as flour is because there is no fat. I used less sugar (1 1/2 cups), but added coconut oil (1/2 cup) and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States