Easy Pina Colada French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
such a nice change from the normal french toast flavor...bananas, pineapple and toasted coconut are wonderful on top of this and then no need for the syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This recipe is a keeper! As a pina colada fan, I loved this and found it to be a new and exciting way to make French toast. The bananas seemed a little out of place to me and I think I would prefer garnishing it with pineapple and most definitely coconut, but hubby thought they were just fine with the bananas. I only used 6 eggs in the egg dip because 8 just seemed like a lot, but I measured everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Totally yummy! I had no idea I would like this so much. I will be making this for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
OK this is my recipe and one thing to make it right is To make sure you buy a good quality pina colada mix. NO value or store brands. Please. Or adjust the recipe to suit flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was excellent! We don't keep pina colada mix on hand, so I opted to use a combination of coconut milk and pineapple juice for the mix...and I kept forgetting to pick up pineapple juice, so in the end, I opened a can of crushed pineapple and use some of that juice. A few of the pineapple bits poured out and I liked the result of teeny bits of fruit on the finished product. My only other change was to use a Portuguese Saloio Bread, kind of dense, chewy, tiny hint of sweetness, and that paired beautifully with the pina colada flavors, as well as being a great "French toast" bread! I did experiment by sprinkling a couple of the dipped slices of bread with some shredded coconut before pan-frying, but some pieces burned a bit, so next time I'll just have toasted coconut to offer as an additional topping. Wonderful summery breakfast idea! Thanks, laughingmagpie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Wow!!!!!!!! Super good. made as is and thoroughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Yum! Sure wish it had some rum...;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I love pina coladas so this is the perfect french toast for me. If you want the rum, just add a little rum extract to the mix. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Another idea for this to make it really even more tropical is to use Hawaiian sweet bread in place of the French bread. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious, just as written! The bananas are a great touch, and add to the tropical flavors. I wasn't at all sure about this one, but having tried it, I'll be making it often ... and it's EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States