Easy Pina Colada French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was excellent! We don't keep pina colada mix on hand, so I opted to use a combination of coconut milk and pineapple juice for the mix...and I kept forgetting to pick up pineapple juice, so in the end, I opened a can of crushed pineapple and use some of that juice. A few of the pineapple bits poured out and I liked the result of teeny bits of fruit on the finished product. My only other change was to use a Portuguese Saloio Bread, kind of dense, chewy, tiny hint of sweetness, and that paired beautifully with the pina colada flavors, as well as being a great "French toast" bread! I did experiment by sprinkling a couple of the dipped slices of bread with some shredded coconut before pan-frying, but some pieces burned a bit, so next time I'll just have toasted coconut to offer as an additional topping. Wonderful summery breakfast idea! Thanks, laughingmagpie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This recipe is a keeper! As a pina colada fan, I loved this and found it to be a new and exciting way to make French toast. The bananas seemed a little out of place to me and I think I would prefer garnishing it with pineapple and most definitely coconut, but hubby thought they were just fine with the bananas. I only used 6 eggs in the egg dip because 8 just seemed like a lot, but I measured everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Wow!!!!!!!! Super good. made as is and thoroughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Another idea for this to make it really even more tropical is to use Hawaiian sweet bread in place of the French bread. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I love pina coladas so this is the perfect french toast for me. If you want the rum, just add a little rum extract to the mix. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I wonder if there is a way to make this less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiCakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Fun! I added some pineapple juice and creme de coconut to the egg mix. I also made a "syrup" with the left over pineapple juice, coconut cream with some cinnamon, nutmeg and a splash of lime that I boiled until thick (ended up using a little corn starch to make it real thick like a glaze).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
What, no rum in the recipe? I just made french toast with grand marnier and it was wonderful. I'll try this recipe next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Made it according to the recipe and family really enjoyed the "something different" aspect! (As for the topping - I toasted the coconut and liked the tiny bit of crunch.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States