Easy Pina Colada French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I halved the recipe, and it made 7 slices. Mods: Half-cup measuring cup, filled 1/3 with coconut cream and 2/3 with pineapple juice Same measuring cup mostly filled with milk Whatever bread I had in the fridge Iollowed SisterSarah's suggestion and made a syrup, which saved this recipe from being rather bland. The syrup was approx. 1 cup pineapple juice, 1/2 cup coconut cream, dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, lime juice - boiled down I tried to add corn starch, but I forgot to mix it into a slurry first, so I picked out the beads that formed. I should have made the syrup ahead of time to allow it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is a very good french toast recipe. The pina colada flavor did not come through as strongly as I'd hoped though, so next time I will play with the ratio of milk to pina colada mix. But overall I was very pleased with the results. DH loved it! A fun twist on french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Something else that will make this a 6 star is using coconut pancake syrup. You can make your own (recipe was on this site) or purchase from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
What a delightful change of taste for french toast. It has a very subtle taste of the flavors of the pina colada mix. This only needs fresh fruit for a topping and not syrup. I got 20 slices of Texas Toast from this recipe. I individually froze and stacked it back in the bread sack for a quick breakfast treat. Magpie - so glad you came up with this recipe. UPDATE: I originally made this in June when it was a personal recipe. I have since made it 3 times. It freezes well and heats up great in the toaster or the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by agreen535
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!! Everyone enjoyed it. I will definately make it againg, maybe I'll add a little coconut rum to it... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I think next time I'll replace the milk with more pina mix, the flavor didn't really come through...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by untwinedpower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Made it according to the recipe and family really enjoyed the "something different" aspect! (As for the topping - I toasted the coconut and liked the tiny bit of crunch.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was almost too easy and very tasty! I kept wondering why I never thought of it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Totally yummy! I had no idea I would like this so much. I will be making this for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This didn't have much taste. Will not be making again. I followed the recipe and this one just didn't work for my family. But do give it a try because your family may like it better than we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States