Easy Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was delicious! My oven was full, so I just cooked it on the stove, by covering and simmering for 20-25 mins. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This was one of the easiest and best recipes I've tried. It came out with a nice, slightly caramelized flavor and wasn't sticky. A definite time saver when you don't want a complicated pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe looks identical to a Craig Claiborne recipe my family has relied on for years. It reliably makes a moist and flavorful pilaf. You can brown some chicken tenders and lay them on top halfway thru baking for a nice combo meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Great basic recipe to modify to your tastes! I paired mine with baked chicken. Instead of using 2 cups of broth only, I used the drippings/marinade from the baked chicken and added broth to equal the two cups of liquid needed. I also added a small can of mushrooms. I omitted the onion and salt due to the presence of both in the marinade. I did brown the rice in the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This rice is easy to make and super delicious! I have made both as written, and also with a few changes. When frying the onion I also add 2 cloves of garlic and chopped up carrot (or sometimes with a frozen veggie mix - carrot, beans, peas and corn). I then spray the pan with cooking spray. When I transfer the rice to the dish I add another approx. 1/8 cup of chicken broth. I then stir rice about every 10 mins to prevent it from sticking to the bottom of the dish or from getting to crunchy on top. When cooking I also add about another 1/8 cup of broth. I have cooked the rice at 350 as well (due to having something else in the oven) and cooked it for an extra 10 minutes - I did not have to add the extra broth during cooking this way. This rice is fantastic - my husband requests it at least once a week, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
My husband told me twice how good this rice is. I added a little bit of minced garlic after the onion was done. Instead of baking it, I added the broth then brought it to a boil over medium heat. Then I turned it down to simmer and covered it. It took 15 minutes for the rice to absorb the broth. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Quick and easy, especially if you use a rice cooker. Simply sautee the onions in butter, add the rice and continue sauteeing until lightly browned. Transfer the rice to the rice cooker and add broth. Cook as usual in the rice cooker. So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsWrite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Yummy pilaf! I made just as written and added some diced carrots. The flavor and moistness of this rice is perfect! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was pretty good. Nice and mild flavored great with a Strong dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Made as written. This is super easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States