Easy Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
My family (including a picky four and two year old) loved this. I had made pierogi earlier in the week and ended up having left over filling that I wasn't sure what to do with when I came across this recipe. I used that instead of the mashed potato filling, halved the rest of the ingredients and baked it in a bread pan. Any recipe I make that causes everyone to eat with no arguments I'll consider a smashing success :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This recipe is easy and delicious. I always fry a few onions and add to each layer as well as topping with fried onion before serving. I also mix in a generous shake of white pepper to the potatoes, otherwise this is a bit bland. Great comfort food recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chemikall
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Cheap, and easy to make! Made my picky eater husband a happy man :) We used fresh-cooked bacon, which gave it a good touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Loved it! It takes about 1 3/4 hours to prepare and bake, including boiling & mashing the potatoes. I added 3 yellow onions, chopped and fried in 2 Tbsp butter. Surprisingly, I found it needed a little salt. I hadn't added any while boiling the potatoes or noodles as I thought the cream cheese, cheddar and bacon bits would make it salty enough. Served it with sour cream, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this last night and it was AMAZING! I made homemade mashed potatoes and added the cream cheese and regular cheese to it and of course some butter and milk and then I also added some French Fried Onions to it (that potato mixture was so good). I left out the bacon in the mixture and saved it all for the top (by the way, I also fried my own bacon instead of the Oscar Mayer...and just crumbled it up myself) But this recipe was so good. My husband is a picky eater and he came back for seconds, he had some more later that night AND he just had some for lunch today! Mission accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is very good. I used chive and onion cream cheese because it was all I could find, and made my own bacon but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I didn't believe the other reviewers and didn't add salt, figuring they must just prefer salty food (we are a pretty low salt family) but I will add it to the mashed potatoes next time I make this. Sour cream helped. I will also follow another reviews advice and add onion and garlic to the mixture but leave the bacon just for the top. It looses some of its texture and taste inside the the potato but stays crispy and delicious on top. Lastly, I made this in the am and refrigerated until dinner time, from cold it needs at least an extra 10 mins in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Fabulous!! I used instant potatoes and onion and chive cream cheese and the taste was fantastic! I served this at a birthday party along with some trays of food from a local restaurant and the pierogi casserole was gone before anything else! I will definitely make this again. Do yourself a favor and try this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gurl_cbl
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was really great, it tasted exactly like a pierogi! I added some garlic, salt & pepper and just a bit of milk & butter to the potatoes since some reviewers said it needed more flavor. My family really enjoyed it and my bf said it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
It was very easy to make, look forward to making it again, possibly for a holiday side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was amazing. While I was boiling the potatoes I sautéed a small diced onion & a large minced garlic clove in 2 tbsp butter (next time I will use a larger onion). Then I added the cream cheese (used about 6 oz chive & onion flavored) & once that melted, some milk. I used this & some of the potato water to mash the potatoes - which you want kind of on the loose side so they are easier to spread. I omitted the green onion since I used a yellow one instead. So creamy & cheesy - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States