Easy Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Loved it! It takes about 1 3/4 hours to prepare and bake, including boiling & mashing the potatoes. I added 3 yellow onions, chopped and fried in 2 Tbsp butter. Surprisingly, I found it needed a little salt. I hadn't added any while boiling the potatoes or noodles as I thought the cream cheese, cheddar and bacon bits would make it salty enough. Served it with sour cream, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made this the other night for my boyfriend and his family, it went over very well. The thing I noticed is that it needs a little more flavor. I added a few cloves of garlic. I also thought that it would be better if you added milk/butter & salt.pepper to the mashed potatoes. I want to make this again, but I'm going to change up the recipe a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicciMarie89
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this last night and it was AMAZING! I made homemade mashed potatoes and added the cream cheese and regular cheese to it and of course some butter and milk and then I also added some French Fried Onions to it (that potato mixture was so good). I left out the bacon in the mixture and saved it all for the top (by the way, I also fried my own bacon instead of the Oscar Mayer...and just crumbled it up myself) But this recipe was so good. My husband is a picky eater and he came back for seconds, he had some more later that night AND he just had some for lunch today! Mission accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this recipe last night. I used instant mashed potatoes because I was feeling lazy. I couldn't find Herb and Garlic cream cheese so I just used garlic cream cheese. I also used french fried onions instead of green onions. My husband thought this recipe was very good. Two children also enjoyed it. I thought it was pretty salty but otherwise very good. Next time I make it, assuming I use instant potatoes again, I will omit the salt called for on the box. The potato mixture does not spread easily across the noodles but perhaps using thinner potatoes would solve that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chemikall
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Cheap, and easy to make! Made my picky eater husband a happy man :) We used fresh-cooked bacon, which gave it a good touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This recipe is easy and delicious. I always fry a few onions and add to each layer as well as topping with fried onion before serving. I also mix in a generous shake of white pepper to the potatoes, otherwise this is a bit bland. Great comfort food recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Used garden vegetable creamed cheese and topped with sautéed onions in unsalted butter. Let sit for half hour. DH said please make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was amazing. While I was boiling the potatoes I sautéed a small diced onion & a large minced garlic clove in 2 tbsp butter (next time I will use a larger onion). Then I added the cream cheese (used about 6 oz chive & onion flavored) & once that melted, some milk. I used this & some of the potato water to mash the potatoes - which you want kind of on the loose side so they are easier to spread. I omitted the green onion since I used a yellow one instead. So creamy & cheesy - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe was good, but not great. It did taste just like pierogis. This took a long time to put together - a good hour for me and I used instant mashed potatoes and fresh cooked bacon. I definitely agree with other reviewers that the dish needs salt added; the bacon and cream cheese just don't add enough. My husband loved it, my daughter hated it, I thought it was just ok. Probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
yum! everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States