Easy Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Fabulous!! I used instant potatoes and onion and chive cream cheese and the taste was fantastic! I served this at a birthday party along with some trays of food from a local restaurant and the pierogi casserole was gone before anything else! I will definitely make this again. Do yourself a favor and try this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is very good. I used chive and onion cream cheese because it was all I could find, and made my own bacon but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I didn't believe the other reviewers and didn't add salt, figuring they must just prefer salty food (we are a pretty low salt family) but I will add it to the mashed potatoes next time I make this. Sour cream helped. I will also follow another reviews advice and add onion and garlic to the mixture but leave the bacon just for the top. It looses some of its texture and taste inside the the potato but stays crispy and delicious on top. Lastly, I made this in the am and refrigerated until dinner time, from cold it needs at least an extra 10 mins in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
My family (including a picky four and two year old) loved this. I had made pierogi earlier in the week and ended up having left over filling that I wasn't sure what to do with when I came across this recipe. I used that instead of the mashed potato filling, halved the rest of the ingredients and baked it in a bread pan. Any recipe I make that causes everyone to eat with no arguments I'll consider a smashing success :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very good. Makes a TON though, would half the recipe next time for just the three of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
yum! everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Tastes Great ! Very similar to lasagna ..... but not ! I recommend using the " Italian cheese & Herb " cream cheese that kraft makes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Love this and soo easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this last night and it was AMAZING! I made homemade mashed potatoes and added the cream cheese and regular cheese to it and of course some butter and milk and then I also added some French Fried Onions to it (that potato mixture was so good). I left out the bacon in the mixture and saved it all for the top (by the way, I also fried my own bacon instead of the Oscar Mayer...and just crumbled it up myself) But this recipe was so good. My husband is a picky eater and he came back for seconds, he had some more later that night AND he just had some for lunch today! Mission accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe was good, but not great. It did taste just like pierogis. This took a long time to put together - a good hour for me and I used instant mashed potatoes and fresh cooked bacon. I definitely agree with other reviewers that the dish needs salt added; the bacon and cream cheese just don't add enough. My husband loved it, my daughter hated it, I thought it was just ok. Probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made this the other night for my boyfriend and his family, it went over very well. The thing I noticed is that it needs a little more flavor. I added a few cloves of garlic. I also thought that it would be better if you added milk/butter & salt.pepper to the mashed potatoes. I want to make this again, but I'm going to change up the recipe a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicciMarie89
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States