Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe saved my Easter breakfast. I was a little unsure using oil instead of shortening or butter, but for my quiche, it was salty and flaky. I wish I had made two! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Just as the three stars suggest, this recipe was 'okay'. I really wasn't a fan of the oil smell/taste, or the texture. It really didn't hold together well at all, very crumbly. I used this crust with a coconut meringue pie, and so added a T. of sugar and halfed the salt. I wish I would of added more sugar and even less salt. It is a very simple and no-mess recipe. I'll probably play with the ingredients a bit in the future to see if I can get something that works a bit better. I'm thinking I'll use melted butter instead of oil, very little salt, and quite a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have never been able to make a decent pie crust but when we recently began receiving eggs I decided to give this a try for quiche. It worked so well! My SO and kids all loved it. It was very easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great recipe and so easy. But definitely only for savory dishes. It's not an all-purpose recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuba29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for a homemade pecan pie but used unrefined organic coconut oil...I will try only 1/2 teaspoon of salt next time as some other reviewers suggested...Otherwise, it was easy to make and very tasty though crumbly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I needed a premade pie crust for a recipe with a chocolate filling. After I broke the one I bought I panicked and found this recipe. It was so easy and the texture so great! It really was too salty for a dessert recipe, although everyone said it worked well with the chocolate. In the future I'll probably add a dash of salt and keep the rest of the recipe the same. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
For being so wonderfully easy and quick, I would have given this recipe 4.5 or even 5 stars - if it weren't for the vegetable oil aspect. Came out of the oven reeking of oil and I knew before tasting it that this would be no replacement for a good quality pastry recipe (taste only confirmed it: tasted like the cheap oily crusts you get in grocery store pies). Easy solution: 1/2 cup melted butter instead of veg oil. Improves this recipe at least a star or two and gives a buttery flakiness instead of a greasy taste. I made two with butter and two with vegetable oil: the butter ones are gone and the veg oil ones are moulding in the fridge! :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatieA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
OMG ! So great. I used olive oil, 3 TBS sugar and 1 tsp salt for a sweet potato pie. I will never use any other crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
i did tried this recipe twice at the same time , first time , it was little hard or dry and i had a hard time shapping it into the muffin pan , the second time was much better as i added more milk like half a table spoon and it was much easier to shape and the taste was good too .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Yazeed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States