Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My family enjoyed it :) I would for sure say this is not my 'go to" or anything, but it is good when your baking something and want a more flakey/crumbly like crust and turned out perfect for my peach pie (that was real juicy). I think it would be nice for cheesecake too. I will probably use this recipe again when I am out of shortening :) I DID use half the salt called for and I only pre-baked it for a few minutes while I was finishing up the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplemonday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Living In: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I think that even 1 tbsp of sugar is not enough for sweet pies. Next time will try 2 tbsp. 1/4 tsp of salt is ok for such amount of flour. Yes, it's very grainy, so it doesn't work for a top crust. Besides, it's a problem to cut it because the crust tends to crumble. I made a pecan pie with it. Not so bad when you're in a hurry or just don't want to waste your time on rolling out a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
So easy! Don't put it on the bottom rack though....mine cooked too fast and burned the edges but The recipe is great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I used Olive oil as well and it was super easy. I used this on top of a chicken pot pie and it was perfect. I did not add the sugar or salt though. If you are putting it on top of a pie, it would better to chill it for a bit and roll or squish into the shape you need on plastic wrap. Also, cook for a little longer then 15 minutes, mine should have stayed in the oven longer, but that's my fault not the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
While this will never replace my go-to pie crust recipe, it's fantastic for if you need to whip something up fast. If I have leftover filling and no crust left, I'll throw this together (takes about five minutes) and make a small pie or tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
AWESOME recipe. LOVED LOVED LOVED it. This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Way too much oil. My dough was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This was a very quick and easy recipe. Unfortunately, even with reducing the salt as other reviewers suggested, it was still too salty and overly crumbly. I made a top crust as well (this was for a meat pie made with leftover pot roast). Maybe the texture had a chalky mouth feel and the crumbling was more obvious because I included a top crust. I'll return to a more traditional crust, it's well worth the additional effort, but I so wanted a quicker alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This recipe was super easy, but WAY too salty. It tasted terrible in my chocolate cream pie. Next time I will be sure to not put as much salt in the batter. Do not use this recipe the way it is now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States