Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Good. Definitely a lot of salt, so I reduced by half and added some sugar. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Great recipe, one thing I liked better is substituting Cocoanut milk and then reducing the salt to half teaspoon and reducing the sugar to one teaspoon. Bake ahead of filling with fruit for ten minutes. After filling with fruit or quiche recipe, bake again as suggested. Worked great for my strawberry/apple pie! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne K. Weiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I agree with other comments, there are better crusts out there. But I am going to keep this recipe as well, because of course they are not made with oil, and this is definitely a plus! moreover, it is not messy at all: if you really want to keep it to a minimum effort, you don't need a bowl and a rolling pin either. I mean to try it again, making the kitchen robot do all the work; I think it will be more "smooth" and perhaps less sandy and grainy... also, if you plan to use this for a sweet pie, be careful of the amount of salt (I happened to use it on my first try with a caramel filling, and it was fortunate, I declared that I had a "caramel au burre salè" French pie in mind from the beginning, but it was so untrue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Definitely easy to make. I was using it for a pumpkin pie, and so I followed other user suggestions and cut the salt and upped the sugar. HOWEVER, I still had the taste of vegetable oil in my mouth for five minutes after finishing my slice of pie. If you're using it for something sweet, I would definitely suggest using melted butter as your lipid instead. It would make for a much more savory, less gross aftertasting dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is easy and quick and tastes a whole lot better than the store bought crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Everyone else loved this but I wasn't so fond. Made it with a quiche, and that would be all I would use it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Easy for sure. Mine came out extremely crumbly and it's missing that buttery flaky component that's found in traditional crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a good recipe but way to much salt, I decreased the salt to 1/4 tsp and added a 1/2 tsp vanilla to give the crust a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I just made this for Chicken pot pie it tastes good it smells good but when I was making the top layer for the chicken pot pie I couldn't handle the piecrust. It literally fell apart it would not stay together had to piece it together on top of the chicken pot pie. If you're using this crust for just the bottom then I would say yes it's good but if you're needing this crust to use as a top layer for any dish I would say absolutely not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is disgusting! I followed instructions and baked for over 45 minutes and it NEVER fully cooked. Ruined my entire steak and cheese pie. Take this down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Furtado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States