Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I would not use this recipe (as stated) for desserts. The crust would be too salty for a dessert. However, it would be great for a quiche. If you decrease the salt by half and use a generous tablespoon of sugar (instead of only 2 tsp) - this is great! Fortunately I tasted the dough before pressing it into the pan - and added enough extra sugar to still use it for my pecan pie. Came out fantastic! Since pecan pies typically bake for a long time, I didn't bother baking the crust and it came out cooked through after an hour and a half baking. Rating four stars because this produced a very simple and quick alternative to rolling out a pie crust - and if enough sugar is added, is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
517 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I have avoided making pie crusts for many years because I could never get it right. They were too much effort and always turned out tough. But I gave this recipe a try and I am absolutely ecstatic to have found such an easy recipe that turned out so well! It was tender, flaky and flavorful! My crust was for a quiche and I used olive oil as another reviewer here suggested. It turned out fantastic. This is a keeper for sure and I am saying goodbye to Pillsbury crusts! Thank you so much for a great recipe that will definitely save me time and money in the kitchen. An update on my original review - I healthied this recipe up a bit by using 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour plus 1 cup of white flour and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
FINALLY! A pie crust that works! I just found this recipe a couple of weeks ago and I've made it at least 10 times. I've used it as a cobbler crust, top and bottom layers of fruit pie, even cut up sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. It's so so good! I do agree with past reviewers that if you're making a sweet dish, use only a pinch of salt and up the sugar quite a bit. If you're making a savory dish, like a quiche, leave the recipe as is or cut the salt just a bit. Otherwise, this recipe is IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
AMAZING! BEST PIE CRUST EVER...EASIEST PIE CRUST EVER... I used olive oil and it turned out great, couldn't taste the olive flavor at all! So much healthier than pie crusts full of butter and easier too :) I had given up on making pies until now :) Thank you Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I was looking for a quick pie crust to make an instant cheesecake... This pie crust has got to be one of the best! It was wonderful. I, too, would decrease the salt a bit, as it was slightly salty. All in all, though, this pie crust is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was very easy and it tasted better than store-bought and frozen crust. Will make again, but I won't pre-bake it this time- it came out a little burnt on the edges after I baked the filling in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I used this recipe because I didn't have any butter or shortening, and I was amazed at the crust I got. It has a crisp crumbly texture. I have used it for custard pies as well as beef pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
It was a great crust and so easy. Before i read the directions, i got out a mixing bowl. Then, WOW, no need for a mixing bowl. Boy was i happy; one less dish to clean. I think that for fruit pies, i might add a little more sugar. but for all others, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I used this crust for lemon meringue pie and it worked out PERFECTLY! It was easy to make, no hassle, with normal things I have in my kitchen. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
vERY EASY TO MAKE, 4 STARS BECAUSE IT'S NOT A CRUST FOR DESSERTS BECAUSE OF THE SALT, NEXT TIME I WILL USE LESS SALT OR MORE SUGAR, I WILL USE AGAIN AND AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States