Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great recipe and so easy. But definitely only for savory dishes. It's not an all-purpose recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuba29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for a homemade pecan pie but used unrefined organic coconut oil...I will try only 1/2 teaspoon of salt next time as some other reviewers suggested...Otherwise, it was easy to make and very tasty though crumbly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I needed a premade pie crust for a recipe with a chocolate filling. After I broke the one I bought I panicked and found this recipe. It was so easy and the texture so great! It really was too salty for a dessert recipe, although everyone said it worked well with the chocolate. In the future I'll probably add a dash of salt and keep the rest of the recipe the same. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
For being so wonderfully easy and quick, I would have given this recipe 4.5 or even 5 stars - if it weren't for the vegetable oil aspect. Came out of the oven reeking of oil and I knew before tasting it that this would be no replacement for a good quality pastry recipe (taste only confirmed it: tasted like the cheap oily crusts you get in grocery store pies). Easy solution: 1/2 cup melted butter instead of veg oil. Improves this recipe at least a star or two and gives a buttery flakiness instead of a greasy taste. I made two with butter and two with vegetable oil: the butter ones are gone and the veg oil ones are moulding in the fridge! :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatieA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
OMG ! So great. I used olive oil, 3 TBS sugar and 1 tsp salt for a sweet potato pie. I will never use any other crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
i did tried this recipe twice at the same time , first time , it was little hard or dry and i had a hard time shapping it into the muffin pan , the second time was much better as i added more milk like half a table spoon and it was much easier to shape and the taste was good too .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Yazeed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made a mistake & bought corn flour instead of all purpose flour so I thought it was going to be a disaster... but I added some brown sugar to the mix (it was for an apple pie) & it turned out great! It was kind of like a apple crumble!! I will do it exactly like that next time ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I wouldn't have believed it unless I tried it. ...it was late in the evening and I needed a crust, but didn't feel like going to the trouble to chip frozen butter and do the pie crust "thing". I found this recipe and I was shocked. Made as read, it seems better for a savory dish, a quiche or something. Add a bit of cinnamon and a tad more sugar and it was berry pie worthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delicious! Flaky! Easy! Takes no time to make or to bake. Great when baked with the filling or when blind baked. Easiest clean-up. Compared to other crusts using butter, this is practically no work at all, and just as tasty. I only used 1/4 tsp salt and 1 Tbsp sugar, mixing them with the milk first (inside the pie dish) to allow the sugar to start dissolving so that it doesn't have a too grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States