Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I don't usually comment on recipes, but this one really impressed me. I tried it last night when I discovered I had more pumpkin pie filling than frozen pie crusts. I used to love baking pies, but I could never make a good crust so I gave it up. I didn't expect to have any more success with this recipe. Wrong! This crust is amazing. It's light, flaky, and tender with about 10% the work that most such crusts require. If it worked this well for me, it will work for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I've relied on this recipe year after year when needing a quick, no fuss crust for holiday pies (saves time when so busy with so many other menu items for Thanksgiving). It isn't the most flavorful or flaky, in fact, it can be a little grainy. Don't let that discourage you from trying it. Because, still, it's simple and let's the pie ingredients and toppings be the hero. So I consider it more of a practical base for my pies, not a component of the pie I expect guests to comment/compliment on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
it's really easy! and surprising tastes delicious...rivals some of the more complicated butter and shortening recipes i've tried - and anyone can whip it up so fast. i use canola oil because i don't keep vegetable oil in the house and it works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I would have given this five stars but it tells you to pre-bake the crust. I made a pumpkin pie and by the time the pie was done the crust was burnt! So as a warning, if you have a pie that takes longer than 15-20 minutes to bake, don't pre-bake the crust. It will burn. Other than that I think this is a great quick recipe: no ice water or cold, hard butter thank goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Eh. Normally my kids rave about the cooking, tonight not so much. It was easy but the oil killed it. Next time, I'll try making this with butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Fast and easy. I was happy to find a recipe that used oil an could be prepared in the baking dish just like my Mom makes her crusts. Made a double batch in a 9x13 pan. Required longer to bake. Turns out a bit crumbly but will likely use it again as it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My family all seemed to really like this but it didn't taste like pie crust to me, it almost seemed more cookie like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is pure genius! I'm horrible and baking, and pie crusts are always my down fall. When I found this I couldn't believe it would actually work. But it did and then some, my mother even uses this recipe now instead of the old way of sifting and cutting in lard. Thank you so much for putting this on there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
i tried this with minced lamb pea pie and topped with mashed potato and mozzarella cheese.. all was yumm except the crust was easy to make But a big nooo to put 2 tea spn of sugar in it tastes too sweet and thats not what i wanted but sorry its the honest truth,, just use salt next time but definately not the best crust out here as well needs adjustment and cant make a top crust out of will keep that in mind,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Crisp and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pilvitys
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States