Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
For being so wonderfully easy and quick, I would have given this recipe 4.5 or even 5 stars - if it weren't for the vegetable oil aspect. Came out of the oven reeking of oil and I knew before tasting it that this would be no replacement for a good quality pastry recipe (taste only confirmed it: tasted like the cheap oily crusts you get in grocery store pies). Easy solution: 1/2 cup melted butter instead of veg oil. Improves this recipe at least a star or two and gives a buttery flakiness instead of a greasy taste. I made two with butter and two with vegetable oil: the butter ones are gone and the veg oil ones are moulding in the fridge! :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatieA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
OMG ! So great. I used olive oil, 3 TBS sugar and 1 tsp salt for a sweet potato pie. I will never use any other crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
i did tried this recipe twice at the same time , first time , it was little hard or dry and i had a hard time shapping it into the muffin pan , the second time was much better as i added more milk like half a table spoon and it was much easier to shape and the taste was good too .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Yazeed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made a mistake & bought corn flour instead of all purpose flour so I thought it was going to be a disaster... but I added some brown sugar to the mix (it was for an apple pie) & it turned out great! It was kind of like a apple crumble!! I will do it exactly like that next time ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I wouldn't have believed it unless I tried it. ...it was late in the evening and I needed a crust, but didn't feel like going to the trouble to chip frozen butter and do the pie crust "thing". I found this recipe and I was shocked. Made as read, it seems better for a savory dish, a quiche or something. Add a bit of cinnamon and a tad more sugar and it was berry pie worthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delicious! Flaky! Easy! Takes no time to make or to bake. Great when baked with the filling or when blind baked. Easiest clean-up. Compared to other crusts using butter, this is practically no work at all, and just as tasty. I only used 1/4 tsp salt and 1 Tbsp sugar, mixing them with the milk first (inside the pie dish) to allow the sugar to start dissolving so that it doesn't have a too grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Increased sugar to 3 T as others suggested. Did not bake before baking my apple pie. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I have never reviewed a recipe from this site even though I've used a ton of them before. I am 67 years old and finally prepared a pie yesterday that was absolutely terrific! My mom could make the best piecrust with her eyes closed, but I never was able to come close. Now I'm planning to make all sorts of pies and quiches. By the way, this recipe worked in my 10" pyrex pie plate and I did not pre-bake before filling with pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a five star pie crust recipe. I've made it twice now and both times it turned out beautifully. The first time I made the crust I rolled out the dough between two sheets of parchment paper and baked it according to the instructions. The second time I was making a yogurt pie and wanted a little sweeter crust- I added extra sugar (2T instead of teaspoons) and pressed the crust into the pan to bake. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States